C drive filling up - WD Issue?

Hi - I recently (last two months) have had my (2 TB) C drive filling up - I used TreeSize and found a build up of (access denied) files in the Sytem Information Volume. I was getting worried that my PC would freeze up with these…

Then, yesterday, WD offered an upgrade to the WD SmartWare software I was using - fantastic - arounf 950 gb (yes, gigabytes) was intantly released back to my C drive when I upgraded.

This is clearly an issue with the WD software - or drive? - is this known - will it start again - are there any settings that may need to be changed.

I have been using WD as a continuous back-up for 3 years - the original drive died and I replaced it with a MyPassPort Ultra 2tb USB3 drive two months ago - the problem has only built up since then.

Any comments, or questions, gratefully received.

Hi, 

Let me see if I get this right. You are saying that after the update on the WD Smartware, the software/unit restore the files on the drive back to your computer?

If that’s the case, this is the first time that I’ve seen it. 

Unless you do a restore manually the software shouldn’t do it by it self.

What’s the version of the software that you are running?

Hi

Sorry if I confused - I do not have an issue with the WD Drive backing up and storing the back up files - that is fine.

What I have an issue with is my C drive being filled up with files I cannot remove in my System Volume Information Folder

This started happening after I replaced my old WD drive with a new 2TB mypassport ultra

I had over a 1TB of these files building up in my C drive and my PC was running out of space to operate - I was desparately trying to find a way to get rid of these.

Then WD sent me an update of WD Smartware - to version 2.4.10 (which is the updated version I am now using)

As I updated the System Volume Inforamtion Folder miraculously released arounf 950 gb of files and freed up my space to operate again.