Blank Slate - Best Setup?

I’m starting out with a blank slate, well sort of…

I’ve got a Synology NAS (DS210j w/ (2) 1TB RAID 1) that I’m using for mostly backup at the moment.

I’d like to take all my DVDs and store them on the NAS and I’ve been considering the WD TV Live to view them.

I’ve browsed the net and this forum and there seem to be all sorts of opinions on the best setups. My questions are these…

• Network Shares or the built in Synology Media Server?

• How should I rip and store my DVDs (I’m not really concerned with menus or art - but that would be a bonus)

- Best settings (formats, etc)?

• Wired connection isn’t really an option. Which usb wireless adapter has had the most success?

• I’m looking to also upgrade my wireless router to help the performance of this setup. Any suggested purchases?

Clearly I’m a newbie to this whole thing. If there is any other advice or resources online anyone could recommend that would be great.

Thanks,

adamcav

I’m sure you’ll get a wide variety of opinions but here’s my take:

1. Net shares, very definitely.  IMHO, media servers are just asking for trouble.

2. I use Handbrake exclusively to rip end encode all my DVDs and blu-rays.  If you don’t need to re-encode then something like makeMKV is fine, but it’s a waste of disc space (again, IMHO) not to encode them since they are so wasteful of space (you can reduce by at least half or more with *exactly* the same quality).

3. AnyDVD HD does the ripping, by the way.

4. I can’t suggest wireless – I tried wireless and had to give up because *some* (not all by any means, or even the majority, but a precious few) of my very biggest encodes wouldn’t play smoothly.  However, if you don’t have any wireless devices yet then by all means try an N router (like the new Linksys).

Remember that if you have ANY legacy devices that use Wireless G you’ll be throttled at that speed – so you must either replace them all or be resigned to working at G speeds.

Thanks Mike,