Best firmware for me?

Noob here with a Live which came with the 1.2.21 firmware. When I connected the Live to the network I was surprised that it only prompted me with the 1.3.49 update and not the latest (1.4.17 in Jan 2011). Do I have to upgrade the firmware incrementally ( 2.21 → 3.49 → 4.10 → 4.17) or can I download 1.4.17 and update via usb stick immediately?

That out of the way, I am wondering what is the best firmware for my situation? Currently hooked up to a SDTV with stereo sound at least until summer. Playback is mainly DVR-MS files from Vista Media Center with some avi (xvid,mp3) and mkv (h264/ac3) currently via USB drive but moving to cat5e or a Powerline 500mbps in coming months. I am looking at moving to a HDTV and an ac3/DD capable av receiver down the road but I can change my firmware then to better suit my needs.

Also where there any problems with MKVs with AAC audio in older firmwares? I tried ripping a DVD but got no sound. Maybe it is just the header compression issue than would be fixed with a firmware update.

Thanks

BA

If you use the internet method of updating the firmware, then it will be done incrementally. If you use the USB method, you can go immediately to the latest version,. However, a lot of folks had trouble with USB upgrading not working with the latest firmware…they were stuck in an infinite loop. WD released a Beta firmware that was supposed to fix that issue. Given the problems, I would take the safe route and use the internet method for now.