Audio issues with surround sound

Hi Guys,

I’m a newbie here although I’ve had my WD TV Live HD for close to a year now. I found this forum while searching the net for a solution to my problems with it.

My setup is: 

• The WDTVLive connects via HDMI to a Samsung UE40C6530 TV, the samsung has an optical out to a set of Logitech Z-5500. (I also tried with a samsung monitor that handles HDMI and the issue is the same)

• Content comes from a QNAP TS-639 that is connected to a gigabit switch, then that switch connects to a 10/100 switch in the living room, where the WDTVLive is connected.

Now for the history:

About a year ago, I bought the WDTV Live and I saw that it was good…  then came a couple of updates, which I barely noticed (I think after the updates it was left at 1.01.XX, can’t remember).

At this time I could play 97% of the .mkv files that came my way. Some I’d have trouble with, namely those encoded with compressed audio track (no audio) or some with global tags (no more playback until I cold booted the player). MkvMerge to the rescue and bye-bye compression and global tags. No problem.

Then late last year came a couple of patches (I think it was 1.02 and 1.03), also I had my father with me for a couple months and he took over the living room so no WDTV for me . He just went away and I noticed there was a new update, 1.04. Update installed and… 90% of my mkvs don’t play audio anymore. Even those that played before are now mute (like Avatar 1080p file I have).

More: Avatar and a few others now start to stutter heavily after playing for a couple minutes… I saw in some forum (might have been this one) that this is apparently a problem with the network on the new firmwares, but the audio problem seems unrelated to network since I get the same issue with an USB drive connected directly. I think I noticed some stuttering in some movies when I installed 1.02 or 1.03, but didn’t pay attention to it at the time.