Any tips for increasing transfer speed from Mac?

I switched from a pc to mac last week and moved across the wd mycloud. The pc transferred photos and music very quickly using drag/drop method, I tired it tonight on the mac and it’s taken a couple hours almost to transfer under 3gb! I’ve checked the dashborad connectin details and it says it’s a “relay connection” and to try a direct one. I’m new to both mycloud and mac, does anyone have any advice on how to speed things up?

I too have a Mac(s), In my case 2 MacBook Pros 2 generations apart, both with Mavericks. I doubt the Macs are the problem. It’s more likely the new connection configuration. My performance experience is all over the map. Today it’s exceptionally good. Other days its painfully slow, or fails altogether. I see similar observations from others in this community, including those with PCs.

Now to your specific problem. I’ve been there. The best solution, if the transfers stay stubbornly slow, is to connect the drive directly to the Mac network port. A straight cable will do. Macs can sense the polarity and adjust. The Mac will also give the drive an IP address. Once the connection is up and running and the drives mounted (use the Finder Go menu, Connect to Server feature for best performance. In fact always use this method. None of the other methods work as well), you should be able to transfer files quickly and seamlessly. When done, shut it down, put it back on your netowrk; after turning it on, leave it alone for about 6 hours (the longer the better, especially after transfering many files), and you should be all set.