Another WD Passport Ultra 2TB not mounting in 10.9

I know there are other threads about this but many of them are dated and I haven’t found a solution in any of them.

The drive is formatted exfat directly to my MBP late 2012 13". I purchased it last November and it has worked for several months but I have only used it a handfull of times.  A few days ago without any movement it said “please eject the drive properly” and when unplugged - replugged the drive it simply flashes forever. It shows up in disk utlity and it won’t mount it just flashes.

The drive shows up in my Windows 8 partition with the data intact and I updated to the latest firmware. Thank god I formatted it exfat…

Disk utility gives me this error when I try to repair: “Error: Disk Utility can’t repair this disk… reformat the disk, and restore your backed-up files”

I am a photographer and it’s my backups and work drive and I am on assignment MILES away from anywhere that I can buy another drive to back everything up. I neeeeeed to access this data as my project is on there and I don’t have the space on my MBP to move anything there (which is why I got the external drive).

I have been a WD ONLY customer for 15 years and I put my trust in WD to protect my data.

I contacted customer support who replied: 

Thank you for contacting Western Digital Support.

If it is possible, please backup all data form the drive and then format it. 

Blah blah blah

I apologize for any inconvenience this has caused.

Has ANYONE found a solution? I can’t imagine EVER buying another WD drive after this! I can’t ever have this happen again!!! 

Note: I tried to answer as many possible questions in the post so this does not turn into countless posts asking me ridiculous questions as I am looking for someone who has found a solution… Well besides reformatting.

Have you tried using another file system like FAT32?