Another streaming problem

i am relatively new to NAS drives, but pretty computer literate. i have a wireless home network setup using a dlink DIR-655 router, 2 laptops (802.11n), a PS3 (802.11g) and a wireless printer (802.11g). i am using wpa2 encryption with my wireless network, and my laptops see a consistent and strong connection to the router (80% strength & up) of around 100Mbps.

i have setup the 2TB My Book Live as best i could, transferred movies and other media to it, but i am always getting choppy playback with HD movies in paricular cases. the HD movies i have are encoded with variable bitrates, but average bitrates are 4000kbps and 6000kbps. all this means is that my movies play with bitrates as low as 10kbps and as high as 25Mbps, depending on the complexity of the movie and frames being displayed.

with the PS3, i expected choppy playback because it’s a g connection, so at some point i may see choppy playback, but really shouldn’t especially when there is available bandwidth. i have done whatever i could to improve my speed and connection settings in the router configuration, but the connection issues still persist somewhat with the PS3, signal strength is not as good as with the laptops, so i understand.

what i don’t understand is this: when there is only one laptop connected to the network and i have a good bandwidth of at least 100Mbps, i play a movie using windows media player. then i pause the movie for a few minutes to do something, but when i get back and resume i get choppy playback to the point where the frames freeze and i cannot even watch the movie. i have to close out media player and do it all over again, but after this happens the first time, i will encounter it again througout the movie even if i restart wmp and try forwarding to the last point i left off.