ANGRY WIFE! HELP! MyCloud Mirror tripping internet connection

Hi, sorry if this is a common problem or easy fix, but I am a novice and thought the mirror would be an easy addition to my setup for storage.

Since connecting my cloud mirror to my modem it seems to be making the modem lose it’s connection to the internet at random times, though consistent enough to be extremely annoying and cause the wife to yell. Help!! Seems to happen when the modem is busy more so than when it’s just sitting there.

It’s a my cloud mirror 4tb connected to my Belkin N1 Wireless modem.

Any help or changes I need to make will need to be given in simple terms and will be greatly appreciated. I know how to log into my modem if changes need to be made there.

You stated you are a novice, and your post makes this very apparent. That’s OK, everybody was once a novice.

First of all, your Belkin N1 Wireless ROUTER is not a modem. Your N1 is connected to a modem that either you own or rented from the internet provider.

Your N1 is a really old device and should be upgraded to a newer dual-band gigabit router. (a good one to buy that is not too expensive now is the Asus RT-N66U; it is top notch and since it has been on market for a few years you will likely find it at lower prices today for less than $100.

You basically have a much newer, modern device (My Cloud Mirror) connected to an over 10 year old router. (and modem) and this slows down the Mirror and the Mirror needs to be plugged into a faster gigabit speed router.

If you get a new router, have your internet provider upgrade your modem to a new modern one you will connect your new router to. The provider may even be able to rent you a new combination new modem/router, and then you will be all set for both modem and router being current technology.

Do this, and your problems will likely be gone.

Hey thanks for the advice, and in my defense, my device IS the N1 wireless modem & router.