An alternative to WD Photos?

Hi folks, does anyone know another app for either iOS or Android that can look at photos on the MBL?

From searching it seems a lot of people are having the same issue with WD, I’m surprised it’s not everybody.

I mean, what use is WD Photos? The app works well enough but it can only access the public share?

Can this be any use to anyone that wants to share files with other people?

I want to share family photos with friends and family…

I want give my clients access to a shared folder with work I’ve done for them…

But do I want all these people to have access to all my photos with read/write privilages? I just don’t get WD’s thinking on this.

Perhaps I’m misunderstanding, please let me know if I’m wrong about this as I’m new to MBL and NAS.

It seems to me that if you want to share a folder with someone you have to give them full access to the public share.

Therefore, I would think most people would not want to use the public share if they want to share other folders with family, friends, clients.

So surely WD either need to let us decide user access to the public share or change WD Photos so it accesses a private share.

I’ve found hacks and stuff but I’m a bit nervous of using them and not sure they really do what I want.

The only thing I can think to do is to not use WD Photos and have everything on the MBL out of the public share.

What a shame :frowning:

Like I say though, have I got this wrong? I really hope so.

What do other people do?

Cheers

Hello,

Currently, WD does not have any other app that will allow you access the photos on the MBL.

Hi, have a look at
http://community.wd.com/t5/Software-Accessory-Ideas/WD-photo-app-enhancement-to-support-private-shares/idi-p/558060
There is a hack on there, but it does seem to work fine and would provide you what you want.
Cheers
Miles

2 Likes

Thanks Miles,