Advice needed please... gigabit network

I everyone,

I’m a new one here.

I’m starting my new gigabit network and need some advice.

I’m new at this and need help to start me up.

What I want to do is quite simple.

I already started to encode my whole movie collection of dvds and blu-rays with ISO movie-only files. I want to put the files on a network  NAS and be able to watch them on my 2 TVs (basement and living room). On the TVs, I want to be able to have the movie covers, within categories (action, comedy, etc.), and by clicking on the picture the movie starts. Is the WD TV Live Hub is a good choice (vs. Boxee, SmartTV or others). The device need a gigabit port. Can I add on my network a NAS, like a WD My Book Live or a 2-bay or 4-bay NAS (D-LINK DNS-343, Netgear ReadyNAS Duo RND2000, Netgear ReadyNAS NV+ 4 Disk NAS, other?). What do you suggest for my need. My whole network is already wired on CAT6 Gigabit, so I will not use wi-fi streaming for watching the ISO movies. I need advice also on the router I need to buy (Netgear WNDR3700, WNDR4000, other?) and possibly a Gigabit swicher (Trendnet TEG-S80G, other?) for extra ports. Thanks in advance for your help. Frank.

Any advice anyone please…

dvdtekno,

I’m running WNDR3700 and it’s the most stable router I have ever owned. The WNDR4000 specs look good also. I’m running 2x NetGear GS108E switches (1 for the pc side and 1 for the media room) and I’m using TRENDnet TPL401E2K Powerline AV Adapter Kit because of my low pitched roof.  I have never had any problems with Netgear products and TRENDnet suprises me how well their product perform. 

I never have any lag issues whether it’s streaming from my workstation, from my server, laptop, or accessing the net.

I highly recommend WNDR3700 because of its features and its rock solid performance. 

Thanks a lot for your answer. Any advice on the WD TV Live Hub, an extra NAS and the ISO Blu-ray reading from these ?