500gb AAKS series freezing and not being detected by PC after reboot?

Hi,

Recently I started getting a weird issue with my 500gb WD drive (which I’ve been using without problems for a couple years prior).  After a few minutes/hours of use, the PC will just start locking up.  Once I reboot, BIOS will not always detect the drive at startup.  Sometimes it will, sometimes not.  The other WD drive I have in the system functions fine and if I remove the 500gb drive entirely, system functions flawlessly.  I downloaded WD diagnostic tool and ran both short and long (2+ hours) tests, but they both came back without errors… but there definitely seems to be something wrong with this drive.  Should I RMA it?  I just wonder what happens when WD folks test it and it works during tests (like it has been for me, at times before freezups). 

Did you run the DLG Diagnostic utility to see what the tests say about the drive?  You can download it from the Support >> Downloads page for your drive.

Hi,

Yes I did run the DLG - it found no errors… but there’s something definitely wrong with this drive - it’s frozen on me at least 6-7 times already, and every time it does that, when I do reboot, BIOS doesn’t detect it anymore.  I tried to change the SATA cable, I plugged it into a different SATA port too, didn’t help.

If you’re not comfortable with the drive, then you should go ahead and replace it.

I have exactly the same problem. i wasn’t sure whether this is a problem with the motherboard or the hdd itself.

Have you tried swapping the drive with the different one? I am very interested to know if that would solve the problem, as I am contemplating buying another drive (probably from different manufacturer).

Thanks