3D Support

I have been playing some 3D content either ripped off bluray disks or downloaded off YouTube on my Samsung 3D TV and it seems to play just fine, it would be nice though if the WDTV Live Hub would automatically detect 3D content and send the signal to the TV so it automatically turns on 3D Mode, just like the Playstation3 does :smiley:

It would also be nice if they added extra support for 3D features such as Left/Right Eye, Plain Red/Cyan glasses, Subtitles in 3D etc, it would add a whole new level of greatness to this player, besides bringing another major selling point!

The WD is not even aware that what you’re playing IS 3D.

Left / Right and Top & Bottom formats are just ordinary video, there’s nothing there to clue the WD that it’s actually 3D.

Do you have any idea how the PS3 detects that a plain’ol video is 3D or not?

Hi Tony, I have no clue as to how the PS3 does it because I’m not a programmer, what I know is that IT IS possible because the Playstation3 does it just fine with bluray disks, I haven’t tried it with a regular video though now that I think about it, however 3D support would still be possible by adding this feature to the menus where you can turn on Side By Side, Up And Down Videos etc so you don’t need to go and work with your TV’s remote.

PS3 can do it with physical disks because it recognizes the MVC extension to h.264 used to store the second view in the stream.  Any MVC-unaware playback device just plays a single view as if it were any other h.264 stream.

But in a rip, whether over/under, side-by-side, interleaved, etc
 there’s nothing distinctive to distinguish it from any other video stream, so the PS3 would be no more aware of the 3D content than the WDTV is.  In fact, it’s kind of because the WDTV (and other players) don’t understand MVC that you have to recode the rip into one of the other storage methods and manually tell the TV to expect 3D content.