[SOLVED] 80-GB WD800JD HD has shrunk to 9 GB capacity after running WD Diagnostics software on it

This is about a WD800JD SATA hard drive I have been using since 2007. A couple of days ago, I used WD Data Lifeguard Diagnostics for Windows v1.37 (release date: 2/27/2020) to first test the hard drive (it did pass both the quick and extended tests), and then I had the maladroit idea to do a full erase (with the same software). At about 90% of the full erase completed, there were numerous errors (the full erase process basically came to a stop). At that point, I opted for ending the full erase process, and that’s when the hard drive stopped being recognized by my OS (I was running the WD Diagnostics software in Windows XP). Finally, the hard drive is now again recognized by both Windows XP and Linux, but only as a 9 GB hard drive with serial number <0>. I would like to restore it to the original factory setting of 80 GB. How can I do this? Thanks…

Is the partition 9 GBs or is the entire drive being recognized as 9 GBs?

What does Disk Management show for the drive?

1 Like

This hard drive was never partitioned. Before this happened three days ago, it had always shown in the system as an 80 GB hard drive and performed perfectly.

I gave it a try again this morning: MS Windows now does not show anything at all for the drive (It does not recognize it as present). But when I run WD Digital Data Lifeguard Diagnostics for Windows ver.1.37, it does show in this software as:

Drive#   2

Model Number Config AL25744_12345678
Serial Number o
Capacity 9 GB
SMART Status ? Not Available

Again, before running WD Full Erase on it, it showed as a different Model Number and with a proper Serial Number in the same WD software, and it was also normally recognized as a 80 GB hard drive in MS Windows for about 13 years (until three days ago when I ran full erase).