WDTV LS - Does It Play 3gp4 Videos?

Hi all,

I recently got a Samsung Galaxy S2 smartphone, but have found neither my (aged) desktop PC nor my (upgraded) Samsung NC10 netbook (both running Windows XP) will play any videos recorded with it. I normally use the VLC player (which has always played everything else fine on both computers) but have also tried WIndows Media Player, Quicktime, Realplayer and XBMC without any success - either very jumpy / glitchy or sort of spaced-out slow motion. I’m far from an expert on codecs etc but apparently the S2 creates H264 MPEG4 videos, which it would appear need quite a bit of power to process.

*EDIT* Have found the videos are actually 3gp4 (see posts below), so have amended thread subject accordingly

So my question is, can anyone CATEGORICALLY state that the newest (Gen3) WDTV Live Streaming Media Player can happily play video files created by  a Samsung Galaxy S2?

Just to clarify, I’ve looked at the specs and it would APPEAR from these that they will play ok, but ideally I would like to hear from someone who has proof i.e. has actually played video files from a SGS2 successfully on a WDTV Live Streaming / Gen 3.

Many thanks for any advice, apologies if this post sounds a bit demanding but I really would like to find out for definite if this unit can let me see my videos again (and without any messing about with codecs and the like!)

Cheers - Jos

I can’t say CATEGORICALLY however the WDTV player is designed to play high bit rate HD video so I assume it would play your videos. Your aging and low power PC and Netbook would struggle with HD as does my laptop. No doubt somebody will give you the assurance that you require.

Hi, thanks for that response - yes, I agree, I’m fairly sure it will play them but it would be nice to have it confirmed before buying.