Streaming issues with Linux Mint 15

I store most of my media on my Linux desktop computer.  I need a way to stream it to the SMP over ethernet.  I have tried right-clicking the folder and configuring the share that way, to no avail.  It gives 2 choices: SMB and NFS.  Neither seem to work.  I have granted the proper permission with chmod -R 777 (which I discovered on another post).  No progress there.  Is there something I am missing?  I am a Linux novice.

You have to have either (1) Samba (server) running or (2) NFS enabled.  Since neither is probably done by default, I doubt that right-clicking a directory and “sharing it” is too effective.  I don’t use Mint/Ubuntu, but there is lots of online documentation for them, so in that sense they are good for newbies.  I easily found several articles on Samba that should help you get it setup:

http://community.linuxmint.com/software/view/system-config-samba

http://nixmash.com/linux/linux-mint-14-samba-configuration-tips/

http://www.unixmen.com/how-to-configure-samba-using-a-graphical-interface-in-ubuntu/

I don’t see any kind of GUI for NFS (though there are also install/setup guides), and you have to enable NFS in the SMP in order to use NFS, so I would recommend you try Samba/SMB first.  I use Samba to serve blu-ray sourced video from my Linux server to our SMPs and it works great, though a couple of people on this forum have claimed to have performance (throughput) issues with Samba.  Samba is also highly confiigurable (via its configuration file) and has allowed me to get our file sharing set up exactly as desired.

1 Like

Thank you, ncarver.  I appreciate the links and advice.  I have tried those measures already with no success.  I have tried the Samba options and the NFS options.  I have done everything possible, so the device is useless to me.  I will try to return it.  The reason I bought it was for the streaming options.  Not sure why it can’t just be a simple matter to setup, this is ridiculous.