Beginner's Guide to Streaming Movies on WDTV Live

First Off - Warning - big post

Second Off - a caveat. I am an ex-beginner, so if I’ve made any errors, let me know and I will happily adjust.

The problem I had with WDTV was the lack of a simple guide to stream video to my TV, and despite the best help from the more experienced guys on the forum, I think I made every mistake possible getting here. So in part to document my system and in part to give something back here is my humble ‘guide’.

Introduction

WDTV Live offers huge potential as a media server, but the problem is that it is still pretty raw round the edges, I have found that in setting up a movie library on the system, and making it really usable rather than a gimmick, requires a great deal of compromise. I feel I have got my system at the right level of balance between what I really wanted and what WDTV Live can deliver (hereafter called the SMP - the Streaming Media Player).

This guide assumes you are a total beginner and takes you through the steps of creating your movie library, streaming it to the SMP, and accessing the videos.

1. My system

I think this could be fairly typical of many other users with PCs and a home cinema system…

Study

• Main PC at home running WIndows 7 Home Premium.
  • 1TB Hard Drive devoted to Video
  • Connected to a Router (ethernet)

Sitting Room
The SMP is connected to:

• the Router through the mains using a Powerline connection box (TP-Link rated at 200 MBS). A similar box is plugged in the sitting room, and connected to the SMP. I opted for this approach over Wifi, to ensure connectivity as I had heard about some issues regarding streaming video over wifi.
  • the TV using an HDMI cable
  • the receiver using an optical cable
  • the mains.

The SMP sitting on top of my home cinema boxes

The rear of the SMP.  Cables from left: mains, optical cable to the receiver, ethernet cable to the Powerline, HDMI cable to the TV.