WD TV Live cant access shares on XP based PC

There is already a ton of info on this board. I have been working on this for a few days with no luck.

Here is where I am so far:

• Purchased 1 week ago, never has connected to shares
  • Works with Netgear N600 router to use service from Netflix
  • I have attempted the TonyPH12345 troubleshooting guide but wihtout success. The first command from my computer does not see other network devices as in his example.
  • I enabled/started the Network DDE and DDE DSDM services
  • I enabled NetBIOS over TCP/IP
  • Renamed my MSHOME group (default on new router) to WORKGROUP to match the WD TV LIVE box.
  • rebooted, restarted, reset to factory settings etc.

I am using Win XP Pro on a relatively old (2004) machine. The network router is also brand new, bought with the WD Box. I can muddle through instructions that I have read through this site (tremendous help available by the way) but I am by no means a networking expert. I attempted using my work laptop to access network shares but was also unable. I believe the issue is my PC, not the box, but this is the very capability I bought it for. I read another thread about exceptions in the firewall. In order to test it, I disabled the firewall completely and still no luck. I re-enabled for security.

Please help. My thanks in advance.

Brian

New symptom. I get a system error 6118. Looks like some ports are closed that need to be opened thru the firewall. I’ll search for some info on this and report back.

I’m losing hair over this. I want this to work. Please help.

From the TonyPH12345 tutorial:

Results of net view are only sees my pc, not the WD TV Live or the WD Live book I bought today. Discover won’t see it either.

Results of nbtstat -a <>

which makes me think the master browser is working correct?

I enabled NetBIOS over TCP/IP

I opened all the ports (correctly I hope)

I’m near done.

if anyone has anothe clue, please help.

Brian