Reply
Occasional Contributor
Dixit
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎02-13-2012
0

Newest WD TV Live cant see shares, older ones can

Ive got two of the older model WD TV Live (the one with the tiny remote) and never had issues with them seeing the shares.  Ive always made sure one of my main servers was always the master browser and those two WD TV Live's had no issue seeing the servers under Network and connecting to them.  I just got the latest updated WD TV Live (WDBHG70000NBK) with the built in wifi and it seems to have more issues trying to see the network shares.  Its always just sitting there in the spinning circle arrow never seeing a server, one time I saw it for like 5secs then it went back to spinning arrow again. 

 

It never has any issues seeing the Media Server side of it (same server Im looking to connect on the Network share side). 

 

Below is my net view and nbtstat showing that there is only one server (my main one) with the Master Browser.

C:\Users\Administrator>net view
Server Name            Remark

--------------------------------------------------------------
\\BROTHERPRINTER
\\HPWHS2               My home server
\\WDTVLIVE             WD TV Live
\\WHS                  Suthar WHS
The command completed successfully.


C:\Users\Administrator>nbtstat -a brotherprinter

Local Area Connection:
Node IpAddress: [192.168.0.100] Scope Id: []

           NetBIOS Remote Machine Name Table

       Name               Type         Status
    ---------------------------------------------
    BrotherPrinter <00>  UNIQUE      Registered
    BrotherPrinter <20>  UNIQUE      Registered

    MAC Address = 0C-EE-E6-BB-9C-D4


C:\Users\Administrator>nbtstat -a hpwhs2

Local Area Connection:
Node IpAddress: [192.168.0.100] Scope Id: []

           NetBIOS Remote Machine Name Table

       Name               Type         Status
    ---------------------------------------------
    HPWHS2         <00>  UNIQUE      Registered
    WORKGROUP      <00>  GROUP       Registered
    HPWHS2         <20>  UNIQUE      Registered

    MAC Address = 00-1B-FC-52-F0-0C


C:\Users\Administrator>nbtstat -a wdtvlive

Local Area Connection:
Node IpAddress: [192.168.0.100] Scope Id: []

           NetBIOS Remote Machine Name Table

       Name               Type         Status
    ---------------------------------------------
    WDTVLIVE       <00>  UNIQUE      Registered
    WDTVLIVE       <03>  UNIQUE      Registered
    WDTVLIVE       <20>  UNIQUE      Registered
    WORKGROUP      <1E>  GROUP       Registered
    WORKGROUP      <00>  GROUP       Registered

    MAC Address = 00-00-00-00-00-00


C:\Users\Administrator>nbtstat -a whs

Local Area Connection:
Node IpAddress: [192.168.0.100] Scope Id: []

           NetBIOS Remote Machine Name Table

       Name               Type         Status
    ---------------------------------------------
    WHS            <00>  UNIQUE      Registered
    WORKGROUP      <00>  GROUP       Registered
    WHS            <20>  UNIQUE      Registered
    WORKGROUP      <1E>  GROUP       Registered
    WORKGROUP      <1D>  UNIQUE      Registered
    ..__MSBROWSE__.<01>  GROUP       Registered

    MAC Address = 00-22-4D-50-54-01


C:\Users\Administrator>

 

Yet my new WD TV Live still cant see anything. 

 

I also have Popcorn hour devices and they obviously have no issues since its not looking for a master browser, you literally just map a drive to it and its always able to see that share when its online.  I wish WD TV Live's did that as an option, sometimes this Master Browser issue is a nightmare.  In my case clearly no issue from a Master Browser or WORKGROUP name but it still has issues.  I dont want to use the Media Server side of it since it doesnt see my entire library of files and cannot show MKV files.

 

Dixit

Honored Contributor
TonyPh12345
Posts: 22,623
Registered: ‎01-11-2010
0

Re: Newest WD TV Live cant see shares, older ones can

Try this:

 

From HPWHS2, issue the command

 

net view whs

 

and vice versa.

 

Post the results.

 

===Live SMP / Live Hub x2 / Live+ / Live x2 / 24 TBytes of QNAP + WD NAS ===
Occasional Contributor
Dixit
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎02-13-2012
0

Re: Newest WD TV Live cant see shares, older ones can

 

From the HPWHS2 server

 

 

C:\Users\Administrator>net view whs
Shared resources at whs

HPWHS2

Share name     Type  Used as  Comment

------------------------------------------
1TB            Disk
500GB          Disk
Documents      Disk
MacOSX         Disk           Mac Files
Main           Disk           Main files
Movies         Disk
Music          Disk           Music
Pictures       Disk           Pictures
Public         Disk           Public files
Recorded TV    Disk
Users          Disk
VideoCaptures  Disk
Videos         Disk           Videos
The command completed successfully.

C:\Users\Administrator>

 

From the WHS server

 

C:\Users\Administrator>net view hpwhs2
Shared resources at hpwhs2

My home server

Share name   Type  Used as  Comment

----------------------------------------
750GB        Disk
Documents    Disk           Documents
Movies       Disk
Music        Disk           Music
Pictures     Disk           Pictures
Recorded TV  Disk           Recorded TV
Videos       Disk           Videos
The command completed successfully.

C:\Users\Administrator>

 

Both of these are Windows Home Servers 2011 boxes.  The WHS was forced to be the Master Browser by using the "IsDomainMaster" registry setting as well as "MaintainServerList" setting.  The HPWHS2 is set FALSE and No on the two settings (respectively) above.

 

Dixit

Occasional Contributor
Dixit
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎02-13-2012
0

Re: Newest WD TV Live cant see shares, older ones can

I "think" I may have this solved.

 

Turns out there was a "rogue" machine lets call it that was jacking this whole thing up.  There was a desktop in a room that was sitting in Shutting down mode for the past 2-3days I think now.  On another laptop I noticed it was pointing to that "rogue" machine (as Im calling it now hahaha) as the Master Browser but it wasnt showing up on the hpwhs2 or whs machines.  It was a standard Win7 machine.  So I shut it down, turned it back on, forced the IsDomainMaster to False and MaintainServerList to Auto and restarted it again.  Now it seems fine I believe.  The WHS server shows up as the only Master Browser.  Im going to assume this is the fix for now.  We'll see how this goes.

 

Dixit

Forums | Ideas | News and Announcements | Register | Sign in | Help | Forum Guidelines
Copyright © 2001 - 2014 Western Digital Technologies, Inc. All rights reserved. | Trademarks | Privacy | Community Terms of Service | Site Terms of Use | Copyright | Contact WD