Reply
Occasional Contributor
Deletos
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎02-11-2010
0

Network issues

First of all i use windows vista ultimate 64bit

Just bought a WD HD Live TV box and connected it to my network

Setup goes without a problem

But now and then my network settings are gone on wd hd live tv, have to do the setup again

Sometimes when i watch a movie i get throw out of it and get the message "There was a problem connecting to the network . The device could not connect to the network"

Anyone have a clue because it's really getting on my nerves, my other media hd player from another brand works perfectly so my network is ok.

 

Thx in advance

Occasional Visitor
BoondockSnt
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎01-21-2010
0

Re: Network issues

[ Edited ]

Check your firmware version.  .17 had major networking issues..   so far  .24 seems to be a lot better.

Occasional Contributor
Deletos
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎02-11-2010
0

Re: Network issues

have the latest firmware .24

Occasional Collector
Carnigg
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎02-12-2010
0

Re: Network issues

seems to be common issue.

 

Many similar post here and elsewhere on the net.

 

Some believe its a compatability issue (router, wireless dongle etc), others saying network set-up (set-up static ip, firewall exception etc).

 

Personally, I've noticed that if I leave the box on to stabilise first then it doesn't happen (generally).  Also seems that if my computer is not on then it also creates problems.   It leads me to think that its not establishing network connection properly with both of the above being applicable (possibly).

Occasional Contributor
Deletos
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎02-11-2010
0

Re: Network issues

I have another mediaplayer from another brand and never had a problem with that one

So network settings aren't the problem

It's connected with cable so connection cant be the problem.

Compatability maybe but i think it's the wd hd live tv itself that causes it

Honored Contributor
whattheheck
Posts: 566
Registered: ‎12-01-2009
0

Re: Network issues

"Check your firmware version. .17 had major networking issues.. so far .24 seems to be a lot better."

 

 

 

 

Heh, not for me - now I suddenly find I can't reconnect when leave a share and want to reconnect - it just times out and says it can't find the share, so i have to switch the unit of and on.

--
WDTV Live needs: Better in-file navigation. Arrow keys to skip back and forth 10/30 secs in AVIs/MKVs/Mp4s/Mp3s.
Advisor
jbloggs
Posts: 33
Registered: ‎01-29-2010
0

Re: Network issues

The following thread at AVSForums has a few suggestions. It has helped me resolve Network issue for the most part.

 

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=1187907

Advisor
Blood1
Posts: 30
Registered: ‎06-30-2010
0

Re: Network issues

[ Edited ]

What suggestion did you try? I read all of them and sound like getting a new router worked. I don't see that as an valid option tough. I have a D-LINK DIR 655 which is highly rated.

And basically I'm getting the following:


Title: Stop playing moive and problem connecting to the network error message.
Message:
--------
WD TV Live+
Firmware: Beta v1.03.39
Router: D-Link DIR-655
NAS: D-Link DNS-321
Everything is wired directly into the router

While watching a movie using the WDTVLive+ going to the Video -> Media Servers -> DLinkNAS at some random time interval in any movie, the movie will stop and I get this message:
"There was a problem connecting to the network. The device could not connect to network."


It happens every single time I watch a movie or even a 30 min show.
This is incredibly annoying an ruins the movie watching experience.

I know there are countless other reports of this on AVSForums and in the WD Community
Forums. When will this be resolved?
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=1187907&page=6

Honored Contributor
RoofingGuy
Posts: 2,871
Registered: ‎08-30-2010
0

Re: Network issues

[ Edited ]

You do have channel bonding turned on for the router and all the wireless-N devices, right?  And there are no wireless-g or -b devices connecting?

Advisor
Blood1
Posts: 30
Registered: ‎06-30-2010
0

Re: Network issues

Are you asking me? Everything is wired in my setup. Nothing is wireless.

 

After for channel bonding where exactly woudl that fall under? What category in a router? In Network setup or Advanced something?

Forums | Ideas | News and Announcements | Register | Sign in | Help | Forum Guidelines
Copyright © 2001 - 2013 Western Digital Corporation, All rights reserved. | Trademarks | Privacy | Terms of Service | Terms of Use | Copyright | Contact WD