Movies keep on playing when paused/stopped

Guy_K

Thank you very much. Any idea when we would be able to expect some kind of fix through a firmware update?

Regards,

Alastair

I’ve got exactly the same problem. I’ve been using wd tv live for two years without any problem, playing from a qnap nas. A month ago i’ve started getting this problem. I’ve bougth a new unit thinking mine was brick and still same problem. Is really annoying a i thing it’s any compatibility problem. If i got no solution i also would be moving to another player…

I’m having the exact same problem with my WDTV Live → Qnap TS419+.

I can play only one movie. After that I need to restart my WDTV in order to play another.

When stopping or pausing, the sound continuos, and when hitting play again, the image starts playing as well, only with the progress wheel turning over the picture. Only full reboot solves it.

WDTV Live => Shared=> Qnap TS 419+

I’m calling WDC tomorrow. I’m affraid I’m going to buy an AC Ryan Fluxx as soon as it comes out. (Unless the helpdesk provides a solution). I used to be very happy with it in the old config: WDTV=>Airport Extreme=Mac . Also was a big fan of the first generation WDTV. Either I’ve bought a crappy unit, or the whole device is a miss.

(Also aftyer reboot every now and then the menu is all crappy and coloury…)

Anyone found a solution yet? I’m going to post my experience with the helpdesk tomorrow.

MacF, Amsterdam.

Customer services were kind enough to replace the wdtv. Within 5 day’s.

Supercool. Great service. 

I’ll post my findings.

So WDC was extremely cool with supplying me a new WDTV Live. After I updated the FW I have to conclude the problem still exists. (Although I got rid of a few other annoying bugs).

Only when the UTP Cable is removed I can use the WDTV as it should. Only with USB. 

Conclusion: WDTV Live + Qnap NAS is incompatible.

(Also tried it with ridiculous Twonky Mediaserver, btw.)