Frequent Advisor
Anime_fan

Re: How-To: Convert a BluRay to MKV -- With SUBTITLES INCLUDED.

I'm saying sorry to Tony, for my agressive words.  And I believe lots of WD TV users benifit from his solution.

As a newbie here, I was eager to share something I know with everyone. I meant no harm. 

Anyway, I'm confident with my solutions - I use MakeMKV and Pavtube ByteCopy to copy BD and DVD to MKV from time to time and they never let me down.  Both allows you keep the audio and subtitles you like, removing ones you don't like.

The thing with WD TV is, it support MKV playback and certain subtitles (srt, ssa, sami, vobsub, etc). But it does not support the original blu-ray subtitles (pgs) in MKV.  So you get to switch the pgs to something it can read- Tony did this in the above steps.  This is good.  I just want to point out this process could be simpler with other app- the ByteCopy does change pgs to vobsub without transcoding video or audio. And it costs less than AnyDVD HD or DVDfab. I liked DVDfab, till it became a shareware.  Now I'm a Pavtube fan and recommend their app to my friends. They did write a guide for WD TV Live Plus, I think you'll give it a chance after you read it: 

http://www.pavtube.com/guide/enjoy-blu-ray-movies-on-hdtv-with-wd-tv-live-plus-hd-media%20player.htm...

I believe it's a very considerate solution. If you have better idea, kindly let me know. I'm always looking for better solutions.

Blu-ray - 1080p - MKV- HDTV - WD
Regular Advisor
palavering

Tony: As I've stated before, thanks so much for the effort you made to provide me and others a means to 1) convert BD files; 2)pointed to the correct software to use; 3) provided a means to diminish the size of a BD (MKV file); and 4) to be able to include subtitles in the MKV file.