Theme Help

This is my first attempt at editing a theme, and I’m working on Alaska for the SMP. I know this is the HUB theme forum, but I doubt my questions would be very difficult to answer. So some help would be greatly appreciated.

Here’s a link to the theme -  http://community.wdc.com/t5/WD-TV-Live-Streaming-Discussions/Alaska-Theme-for-WDTV-Live-Streaming-for-firmware-1-04-12/td-p/326387

1.) I’m trying to change the default Mochi backdrop. Desertwedge told me that the file is “RV_BG.png” but I’ve never been able to get that backdrop to display. The SMP always displays the default Mochi backdrop. Any ideas? I’ve actually got my own backdrop that I’m trying to display.

2.) How should I update my changes to this theme via the SMP? Currently I just delete the Alaska theme from my SMP, move my graphic edits to the “Alaska_1.zip” and re-up it to the SMP, but that’s very tedious and I’m sure there’s an easier way.

A: 1.) The default backdrop is actually “RV-BG.jpg” not “RV_BG.png”.  It’s a “-” not an “_” and “.jpg” not “.png”.

A: 2.) That’s about all you can do.  WD did not make it easy to change user installed themes on the SMP.

1 Like

Hi Tinwarble, thanks for the response! You are awesome!

Yeah, I took a look at your theming tips thread right after I made my post and noticed the error in the file name - http://community.wdc.com/t5/WD-TV-Live-Hub-Themes/Some-tips-on-theming/td-p/144024/highlight/true

1.) As for making theme changes on the SMP - desertwedge had this to say, but I don’t understand what he means - perhaps you could clarify?

“To upload your changes, just make a zip of the files INSIDE the “alaska” folder. If you make a zip of the folder “alaska”, it will not work. Then just upload via the web interface. If all goes well it should give you a message that the upload was successful.”

I do not see any “alaska” folder inside “Alaska_1.zip” so *shrugs*

2.) Any idea on how I would create a dashboard select in XML for this theme?