Streaming videos from Hub to an Android tablet! (Here are the steps)

I have had a Live Hub since last December and it is AWESOME!  I have the stock firmware & don’t use it in many exotic ways, but love the TuneIn Radio and YouTube apps - my 20-month old and I watch Sesame Street videos before she goes to bed each night…

Anyway, I just got a Toshiba Thrive Tablet, and love it too!  I tried to use Twonky to stream my videos from the hub to the tablet but I couldn’t get it to work - I could only reliably stream YouTube videos, display photos, etc. from my EVO phone and tablet to the Hub (which was cool because I could view pictures I had taken of my daughter without plugging anything directly into the box).

Last night I started playing around with some apps I had downloaded onto the Thrive and now I can stream videos from the Hub to the tablet!  They look great, and stream without stuttering or anything.  I haven’t seen any topics detailing the steps (if there is one, my apologies), so I thought I’d share my experience.

My hardware & setup:

• ·       WD Live Hub – CAT5 cable into wireless router, set up as DLNA server
  • ·       Toshiba Thrive – 16 GB internal, 16 GB SD card

Relevant software on Thrive:

• ·       UPnPlay (free)
  • ·       RockPlayer Lite (free)
  • ·       ES File manager (free)

Steps to view videos:

1. Install all of the software above on the Thrive.  The order doesn’t matter.
  2. Start UPnPlay.  If you have set up your Hub as a DLNA server and the Thrive, it should see your videos on the Hub’s local drive, but not the USB drive.  I have maybe one video on my local drive & everything, so that was useless to me.  This step is mainly to verify that you can actually see the Hub on your wireless LAN.
  3. Open ES File Manager.  It defaults to your local drives.  You can navigate to your SD Card, etc., but that’s not relevant at the moment, is it?  J