Reply
Advisor
Danforth
Posts: 18
Registered: ‎06-16-2011
0
Accepted Solution

Connecting WDTV to computer

My WD TV Live Hub arrived today, and when I was going to connect it to my network with a USB wireless adapter it turned out it wasn't compatible with the Hub. Connecting to my router with a cable is not an option as it's too far from where my TV is. So my last resort is running an ethernet cable from the WD TV to my computer (Windows XP) and move my movies/music/photos that way. But I can't for the life of me get the two to connect.

 

Would anyone be so kind as to help me with this?

Frequent Advisor
sudheer
Posts: 100
Registered: ‎05-24-2011
0

Re: Connecting WDTV to computer

Run WD Discovery tool (wd discovery tool ) on your computer. Before connecting to ethernet. Connection should be Computer <-> Router <-> wd live hub. 

--------------------------------------------------------------------------
WD Live Hub; Running Windows 8.1 on Dell studio XPS Laptop. TP-Link 750 N router with WiFi (N); WD Livewire Powerline AV; WD MyPassport Essentials 1TB; WD 2 TB My book live; 4 TB My Book Duo (NTFS using RAID 0).
Advisor
Danforth
Posts: 18
Registered: ‎06-16-2011
0

Re: Connecting WDTV to computer

[ Edited ]

"No Network Devices were discovered - please be sure your device is powered on and properly connected to the Local Area Network."   :smileysad:

Frequent Advisor
sudheer
Posts: 100
Registered: ‎05-24-2011
0

Re: Connecting WDTV to computer

You need to power on your Hub. The connection should be " Computer" should connected to one of ehernet ports on the Router and then Live hub should be power on and connected to one of the ethernet port on the router. Then use WD discover tool.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------
WD Live Hub; Running Windows 8.1 on Dell studio XPS Laptop. TP-Link 750 N router with WiFi (N); WD Livewire Powerline AV; WD MyPassport Essentials 1TB; WD 2 TB My book live; 4 TB My Book Duo (NTFS using RAID 0).
Advisor
Danforth
Posts: 18
Registered: ‎06-16-2011
0

Re: Connecting WDTV to computer

It was powered on. I'm not that daft :smileyvery-happy:

 

As stated in my first post, connecting the WD TV to my router is not an option as it's too far away for stretching a cable, and my USB wireless adapter is not compatible with the Hub. Hence I'm trying to connect my WD TV and my computer with a cable just between them.

Honored Contributor
TonyPh12345
Posts: 22,970
Registered: ‎01-11-2010

Re: Connecting WDTV to computer

 

You need to set a STATIC IP address on the WDTV Live Hub.    Do not use a GATEWAY address, do not use a DNS address.   They won't work for you anyway.

 

Your PC also needs to have a STATIC IP address on the Ethernet port that is in the same subnet as the one you picked for the WDTV Live Hub.

 

 

===Live SMP / Live Hub x2 / Live+ / Live x2 / 24 TBytes of QNAP + WD NAS ===
Advisor
Danforth
Posts: 18
Registered: ‎06-16-2011
0

Re: Connecting WDTV to computer

[ Edited ]

My computer already has a static IP that I set up for other purposes earlier, but I'm not 100% sure how to do this on the WD TV.

 

Would you mind explaining it? :-)

 

 

EDIT: Nevermind, I figured it out. Thank you so much for helping me! :smileyvery-happy:

Honored Contributor
TonyPh12345
Posts: 22,970
Registered: ‎01-11-2010
0

Re: Connecting WDTV to computer

So's it all working now?   If so, please mark the appropriate post as the SOLUTION.

===Live SMP / Live Hub x2 / Live+ / Live x2 / 24 TBytes of QNAP + WD NAS ===
Advisor
Danforth
Posts: 18
Registered: ‎06-16-2011
0

Re: Connecting WDTV to computer

Yes, it's working exactly as I wanted it to!

 

Sorry, forgot to mark your post as the solution, did it just now. Thanks again! :-)

Forums | Ideas | News and Announcements | Register | Sign in | Help | Forum Guidelines
Copyright © 2001 - 2014 Western Digital Technologies, Inc. All rights reserved. | Trademarks | Privacy | Community Terms of Service | Site Terms of Use | Copyright | Contact WD