Live hub with Synology NAS

Hey all-

First time on the forum. I have years of PC/networking experience, but I’m new to the Synology DS414j NAS I just received.

Prior to getting it, I used my WD TV LIve Hub with several USB-attached hard drives. The directory structure was similar to:

• Mask of Zorro
       - VIDEO-TS (folder)
           - VIDEO_TS and .vob (files)

When I highlighted the “Mask of Zorrow” folder and hit Select, the movie started playing. If I had already started the movie, it would ask if I wanted to continue or restart the movie.

This is the behavior I’d like to duplicate now that I have the NAS. Is anyone familar with how to configure it?

1. On the WD I have to select a content choice. Should I choose Media Server or Network Share?

2. No matter which I choose, when I hit Select on a movie title, I see the VIDEO_TS folder, and then the VIDEO_TS file. If I hit Select on that file, the movie starts. But starting it that way doesn’t allow me to continue/restart the movie, and has other problems.

3. In terms of indexing on the NAS; what should I choose? Will it affect the WD’s operation at all?

Thanks for the help-

dave

Sorry, i don’t own a Synology NAS or Stream … but here’s my 2 cents regarding DVD’s

1)  Rip your DVD’s to *.ISO … less hassle, easier to manage, less problems.  but a *catch* you have to use Network Shares (*iso isnt widely (or at all) supported for Media Shares … aka UPnP / DLNA)

1. Resume points for Dvd playback create a *.BMK (or “Bookmark”) file next to your media  … i know it does it for Local USB Hard drives and the Internal HDD … unsure whether this *bmk gets created via Network Shares (i would’nt recommend using Media Shares at all)

finally if you decide you want to keep using VIDEO_TS folders … here’s a little renaming *trick* that works (contrary to what the user manual states) :wink: