Reply
Regular Advisor
Lunar07
Posts: 142
Registered: ‎06-03-2010
0

Live Hub and HDMI 1.4

Which features exactly are supported from the HDMI 1.4 spec in the Live Hub?  3D?  Ethernet? Audio Return Channel?

Honored Contributor
richUK
Posts: 6,732
Registered: ‎12-09-2009
0

Re: Live Hub and HDMI 1.4

According to the review below - 3D

 

http://www.anandtech.com/show/3990/western-digital-wdtv-live-hub-review/8

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
WDTV Live Streaming; WDTV Live; WD Live Hub; My Book Live. Running Windows XP on a PC / Laptop.
Honored Contributor
TonyPh12345
Posts: 22,504
Registered: ‎01-11-2010
0

Re: Live Hub and HDMI 1.4

I don't think 1.4 is required for 3D...  My brand new 3D TV is only HDMI 1.3, unless the specs online are wrong.

 

I think the spec out of 1.4 is just a marketing gimmick...  Like the Gig-E interface which can barely manage 100 meg... :smileyhappy:

===Live SMP / Live Hub x2 / Live+ / Live x2 / 24 TBytes of QNAP + WD NAS ===
Honored Contributor
RoofingGuy
Posts: 2,871
Registered: ‎08-30-2010
0

Re: Live Hub and HDMI 1.4

 


TonyPh12345 wrote:

I don't think 1.4 is required for 3D...  My brand new 3D TV is only HDMI 1.3, unless the specs online are wrong.


Specs online could be wrong... everything else I've seen on AV sites and in AV mags has always said that 1.4 is a requirement for 3DTV.

 

Regular Advisor
Lunar07
Posts: 142
Registered: ‎06-03-2010
0

Re: Live Hub and HDMI 1.4


TonyPh12345 wrote:

I don't think 1.4 is required for 3D...  My brand new 3D TV is only HDMI 1.3, unless the specs online are wrong.

 

I think the spec out of 1.4 is just a marketing gimmick...  Like the Gig-E interface which can barely manage 100 meg... :smileyhappy:


You need at least 1.4 for 3D with 1.4a adding more 3D formats specially for broadcast.  I personally do not care for ethernet connectivity in 1.4 or the audio return channel in 1.4 or 1.4a.  Your TV got to be 1.4.  I wish WD would explain their extent of support for 1.4 instead of finding it in some other review as another poster had noticed.  I am still studying the features of the new Live Hub.  I have three Live Plus units at my place in different rooms and all connected via ethernet.  The Live Plus units are simply amazing.  But I still do  not see the advantage of the Live Hub specially with Google TV coming up. Hmmm too many decisions to make :smileyhappy:

Honored Contributor
TonyPh12345
Posts: 22,504
Registered: ‎01-11-2010
0

Re: Live Hub and HDMI 1.4

>>> You need at least 1.4 for 3D

 

Not according to this

 

http://3dvision-blog.com/do-we-need-hdmi-1-3-or-hdmi-1-4-for-stereoscopic-3d-support/

http://www.crutchfield.com/S-Rlf3QeAfXvW/learn/learningcenter/home/cables/hdmi.html?page=2

http://ezinearticles.com/?Will-My-HDMI-1.3-Cable-I-Use-For-My-PS3-Handle-Full-HD-1080p-For-3DTV?&id=...

 

but there are other sources that say 1.3 will only do 1080i 3D.   Mine certainly does 1080p....

 

So, I dunno...  

===Live SMP / Live Hub x2 / Live+ / Live x2 / 24 TBytes of QNAP + WD NAS ===
Honored Contributor
RoofingGuy
Posts: 2,871
Registered: ‎08-30-2010
0

Re: Live Hub and HDMI 1.4

Just to be a stick in the mud, your first link, Tony, says that 3d can be transported over 1.3, but there's no standardization... so one manufacturer's 3D implementation from the player over 1.3 might not match a different manufacturer's implementation of 3D into the display device, and they'd be incompatible.

 

The implementation of 3D was standardized into 1.4.  They even make the point of the PS3's workaround being able to work with any 1.4 display or a 1.3 display that can get upgraded through firmware to recognize the 1.4 signal.  If the 1.3 display can't be flashed to work with a 1.4-compliant signal, it can still be labeled 3D since it will use that maker's propriatary implementaion over 1.3, but it won't necessarily work with other brands of 1.3 or with a 1.4.

 

So, let's amend it to "1.4 is necessary for standardized 3DTV."

Honored Contributor
richUK
Posts: 6,732
Registered: ‎12-09-2009
0

Re: Live Hub and HDMI 1.4

 

http://www.hdmi.org/manufacturer/hdmi_1_4/hdmi_1_4_faq.aspx#1

 

3D

The 1.4 version of the specification defines common 3D formats and resolutions for HDMI-enabled devices, enabling 3D gaming and other 3D video applications. The specification standardizes the input/output portion of the home 3D system, facilitating 3D resolutions up to dual-stream 1080p.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
WDTV Live Streaming; WDTV Live; WD Live Hub; My Book Live. Running Windows XP on a PC / Laptop.
Honored Contributor
richUK
Posts: 6,732
Registered: ‎12-09-2009
0

Re: Live Hub and HDMI 1.4

http://www.anandtech.com/show/3990/western-digital-wdtv-live-hub-review/6

 

Visit to Sigma Designs

 

The first demo I saw after our initial talk was that of a development board decoding 3D video onto a 3D TV. Excitedly, I peeked into the board, expecting to see the new SMP 8646 in action. However, I was surprised to see that it was the SMP 8654 on it. Upon inquiry, I found that a recent SDK had enabled decode of certain 3D formats with that chip (similar to how PS3's HDMI 1.3 port was 'fimrware upgraded' to partially support HDMI 1.4). Realizing that it was the same chip that powered the WDTV Live Plus, I was left wondering when a firmware update with the new SDK would reach the WDTV Live Plus owners.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
WDTV Live Streaming; WDTV Live; WD Live Hub; My Book Live. Running Windows XP on a PC / Laptop.
Regular Advisor
Lunar07
Posts: 142
Registered: ‎06-03-2010
0

Re: Live Hub and HDMI 1.4


TonyPh12345 wrote:

>>> You need at least 1.4 for 3D

 

Not according to this

 

http://3dvision-blog.com/do-we-need-hdmi-1-3-or-hdmi-1-4-for-stereoscopic-3d-support/

http://www.crutchfield.com/S-Rlf3QeAfXvW/learn/learningcenter/home/cables/hdmi.html?page=2

http://ezinearticles.com/?Will-My-HDMI-1.3-Cable-I-Use-For-My-PS3-Handle-Full-HD-1080p-For-3DTV?&id=...

 

but there are other sources that say 1.3 will only do 1080i 3D.   Mine certainly does 1080p....

 

So, I dunno...  


As Roofer and Rich mentioned, HDMI 1.4 introduces standardization.  1.4a continues with it.  This is the reason I am not touching any 3D devices for now,  I was about to get the Sherwood Newcastle R-774 digital receiver with its support for HDMI 1.4 3D which led me to research the issue.  Expensive stuff at a time of flux.  I decided not to touch anything with 3D before HDMI 1.8 :smileyvery-happy: when a standard is agreed on and it is all settled.

Forums | Ideas | News and Announcements | Register | Sign in | Help | Forum Guidelines
Copyright © 2001 - 2014 Western Digital Technologies, Inc. All rights reserved. | Trademarks | Privacy | Community Terms of Service | Site Terms of Use | Copyright | Contact WD