Reply
Respected Contributor
Vistawall
Posts: 255
Registered: ‎11-08-2010
0

DVD ISO Playback Resume function not working!

A Bug that I discovered today with WD TV LIVE HUB unit with official FW Release 2.02.16 (10/26/10) is that  DVD ISO Playback works fine, However RESUME function does not work.

 

RESUME works fine with all other media files I have tried, Like MP4, MKV, AVI etc;

 

Please make a note of this bug and please fix it.

 

Thanks.

 

 

 

WDTV SMPx1, WDTVLIVEHUB x1 , Win7 HTPC x2 WD Elements 2 TB x2, Seagate BlackArmor NAS 440 x1, My Book Live Duo 4TBx1, WD N900 Central 1TB.
*** I'm so sane, it's driving me crazy *** Website: http://rbhatta.blogspot.com/
Honored Contributor
TonyPh12345
Posts: 23,143
Registered: ‎01-11-2010
0

Re: DVD ISO Playback Resume function not working!

[ Edited ]

It's working for me..   

 

What issue, exactly, are you having with it?

 

I have noticed (though it is VERY infrequent) that occasionally it will lock up when trying to resume (if the resume point was in a weird place on the disk, like a menu transition or something) but that's happened to me like 2 times out of hundreds of uses...

===Live SMP / Live Hub x2 / Live+ / Live x2 / 24 TBytes of QNAP + WD NAS ===
Respected Contributor
Vistawall
Posts: 255
Registered: ‎11-08-2010
0

Re: DVD ISO Playback Resume function not working!

Simple, Play a DVD standard DVD ISO file Select few menus, chapters, Leave that Media, Select a MKV file or AVI file, Go back to the original DVD ISO file which you were playing, It does not remember where it left, it restarts from the beginning of the file. I am using the official FW  Release 2.02.16 (10/26/10)

 

Thanks

WDTV SMPx1, WDTVLIVEHUB x1 , Win7 HTPC x2 WD Elements 2 TB x2, Seagate BlackArmor NAS 440 x1, My Book Live Duo 4TBx1, WD N900 Central 1TB.
*** I'm so sane, it's driving me crazy *** Website: http://rbhatta.blogspot.com/
Honored Contributor
TonyPh12345
Posts: 23,143
Registered: ‎01-11-2010
0

Re: DVD ISO Playback Resume function not working!

Hmmm.   Don't have a clue...  You could try resetting the box...   All I can tell you is, if it's a bug, it's not a common one.  You're the first to mention it.

===Live SMP / Live Hub x2 / Live+ / Live x2 / 24 TBytes of QNAP + WD NAS ===
Respected Contributor
Vistawall
Posts: 255
Registered: ‎11-08-2010
0

Re: DVD ISO Playback Resume function not working!

TonyPh12345, You are a honored contributor, I have been reading your posts for over a year, You do have excellent advices to the community. I have already did the reset magic, Sadly, It did not work for me.

 

I have been a WDTV Live user for a long time, I Know what "RESUME" function for DVD ISO playback is, The WDTV Live HUB does not even give you the Menu for RESUME function when this Bug Manifests itself. It just starts from the beginning of the file as though the user never played the file before.

 

It will be soon confirmed by other users, If not, I will try to re flash the same FW Release 2.02.16 (10/26/10) again to see if that makes any difference!

 

Thanks

WDTV SMPx1, WDTVLIVEHUB x1 , Win7 HTPC x2 WD Elements 2 TB x2, Seagate BlackArmor NAS 440 x1, My Book Live Duo 4TBx1, WD N900 Central 1TB.
*** I'm so sane, it's driving me crazy *** Website: http://rbhatta.blogspot.com/
Honored Contributor
TonyPh12345
Posts: 23,143
Registered: ‎01-11-2010
0

Re: DVD ISO Playback Resume function not working!

Let's narrow it down a little more.   100% of my ISOs are generated by DVDFab; they were all ripped when I first got the Live+, and they (for me) are working exactly the same way on the Hub as the did on the Live+.    I am trying to narrow down what's different in your case than mine.

 

So I would assume that the RESUME function IS working for the same ISOs on the Live, right?

 

Is it not working for even ONE ISO?  Or is it spotty?

 

How are the ISOs that are not working created?

 

How much space is on your INTERNAL HD?  

===Live SMP / Live Hub x2 / Live+ / Live x2 / 24 TBytes of QNAP + WD NAS ===
Respected Contributor
Vistawall
Posts: 255
Registered: ‎11-08-2010
0

Re: DVD ISO Playback Resume function not working!

The DVD ISO files were created using various software including DVDFab HD Decrypter  like yours, Some using DVD Decrypter directly to a ISO file (Dual layer Full Disc), Some with menus, some without menus, It does not matter with menu or without menu WD TV Live HUB does not  give me the option to resume those DVD ISO file(s)

 

The same set of DVD ISO files play fine in WD Live and played okay on Live+ (I do not have Live+ anymore as I returned it to the store as it was plagued with HDMI issues) But bottom-line is WD Live with Official FW  1.02.21 Plays these DVD ISOs files perfectly fine and also allows me to resume where I left (Ofcourse, The DVD Menus do not work until you use the BETA Firmware with I do not have as it is also plagued with HDMI issues)

 

BTW, The Internal HDD on the WD TV Live HUB  is having about 800GB Free, The DVD ISOs were being played from an external USB HDD using WD TV LIve HUB. I tried using USB 1 and USB 2 same results, I did not attempt to copy files over to the Internal HDD to see if that makes any difference (I doubt it).

 

It is not Spotty,  - It simply refuses to give me the UI menu to resume playback after a brief stop or selection of other files for playback

 

Hope it makes things clear

 

Thanks.

 

 

 

WDTV SMPx1, WDTVLIVEHUB x1 , Win7 HTPC x2 WD Elements 2 TB x2, Seagate BlackArmor NAS 440 x1, My Book Live Duo 4TBx1, WD N900 Central 1TB.
*** I'm so sane, it's driving me crazy *** Website: http://rbhatta.blogspot.com/
Honored Contributor
PixelPower
Posts: 1,858
Registered: ‎01-01-2010
0

Re: DVD ISO Playback Resume function not working!

[ Edited ]

Like Tony, I'm not experiencing any significant issues with ISOs not resuming regular playback.

 

I tried your scenario (play ISO, exit, play MKV, exit, resume ISO) and it worked fine.  I'm also streaming from a network share, not playing locally.

 

I then tried to open another ISO that I half watched last week and (to my surprise) it offered to resume and then resumed playing in the correct place.

 

My tests are resuming from within the movie, not the menus.  I'm not pausing or stopping the movie first; I'm simply hitting the Back button during playback to exit.

 

You can make an ISO fail resume (actually, it'll auto-exit playback mode) by first taking the playing movie back to menu, then exiting, playing another file and going back to the ISO to attempt a resume.  It correctly resumes back to the menu but fails to resume play, instead exiting the ISO.  This is duplicable; happens every time.

 

So there are some issues with ISO resume in more convoluted circumstances but, for regular resume of playback, ISO are working fine for me.

Grant
WD TV Live SMP :: WD TV Live Hub :: WD Livewire :: WD MyBookLive 1TB
Honored Contributor
TonyPh12345
Posts: 23,143
Registered: ‎01-11-2010
0

Re: DVD ISO Playback Resume function not working!

 


PixelPower wrote:

....

You can make an ISO fail resume (actually, it'll auto-exit playback mode) by first taking the playing movie back to menu, then exiting, playing another file and going back to the ISO to attempt a resume.  It correctly resumes back to the menu but fails to resume play, instead exiting the ISO.  This is duplicable; happens every time.

...


Interesting; I don't even have that issue frequently.   What you describe has happened, but for me, it's rare... 

 

95% of my DVDs are TV shows that have multiple episodes per DVD.   I'm almost ALWAYS exiting at the menu, and then watching another disc (from a different series) and then sometime later (after probably 8 or 9 OTHER files) I'll go back in, Resume, and it picks up right into the Title menu (as in, NOT the disk menu) at the same place I left.

 

Vista, I am wondering if your Resume database has gotten corrupted.   The only way I know of sorting that out is to go into the Setup menu and RESET the box (not RESTART, but RESET, which sends it back to factory defaults.)

 

 

 

===Live SMP / Live Hub x2 / Live+ / Live x2 / 24 TBytes of QNAP + WD NAS ===
Respected Contributor
Vistawall
Posts: 255
Registered: ‎11-08-2010
0

Re: DVD ISO Playback Resume function not working!

Thank you!

 

Can you please confirm when you have time to try this from USB1 port  and or USB2 port on the WDTV Live HUB, I do not use Network shares nor have any DVD ISO loaded yet on the Internal 1TB HDD.

 

Could be isolated to my unit? - **bleep**! I do not hope so :smileymad:

 

I will try to reset the unit again tonight after re-flashing the current FW Release 2.02.16 (10/26/10) and report back if the problem persist for me.

 


WDTV SMPx1, WDTVLIVEHUB x1 , Win7 HTPC x2 WD Elements 2 TB x2, Seagate BlackArmor NAS 440 x1, My Book Live Duo 4TBx1, WD N900 Central 1TB.
*** I'm so sane, it's driving me crazy *** Website: http://rbhatta.blogspot.com/
Forums | Ideas | News and Announcements | Register | Sign in | Help | Forum Guidelines
Copyright © 2001 - 2014 Western Digital Technologies, Inc. All rights reserved. | Trademarks | Privacy | Community Terms of Service | Site Terms of Use | Copyright | Contact WD