Reply
Regular Visitor
Hitman75
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎07-26-2013
0

Re: My Book Live not appearing as a backup target

I just used Good SYnc to synchronise my folders, it is so easy to define the source and the destination folder ( as mybooklive) and it works perfectly. So its definately something wrong with the WD Smartware program.

Occasional Visitor
Thumper6
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎08-10-2013
0

Re: My Book Live not appearing as a backup target

I have the same issue.....purchased a My Passport, 1TB....Win 7 x 64 recognizes it just fine...WD Quick View shows it....but not WD SmartWare....

 

Sure wish a WD rep would acknolwedge this issue

Member
fourire
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎08-15-2013
0

Re: My Book Live not appearing as a backup target

same same problem here, in target we dont see my book ????

Frequent Visitor
ccp21
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎04-18-2013
0

Re: My Book Live not appearing as a backup target

I've the same problem. Smartware v2 does not see my book live. Only the dropbox account.

Maybe the name of the drive? I've change the default name.

Frequent Visitor
jmt5802
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎08-25-2013
0

Re: My Book Live not appearing as a backup target

Like the other posters, I have the same problem.  Bought My Book Live Duo 6TB.  Configured to be RAID1.  After installing Smartware and starting it, the Home Tab shows only DropBox for target.  Smartware does not show My Book Live Duo device.  I can see the device through Windows explorer.

 

Any guidance will be appreciated.

Frequent Visitor
jmt5802
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎08-25-2013
0

Re: My Book Live not appearing as a backup target

[ Edited ]

PROBLEM SOLVED

 

Looks like I was able to solve the problem.  In my case, the solution was changing an option in the wirelss router I use.  I use a FIOS Actiontec Router MI242Rwr.  

 

The option changed was IGMP Proxy.  The original setting was "Enabled".  Changed to "Disabled"  Once this change was made and started Smartware, the My Live Book Duo device appeared on the Home tab. 

 

Hope this helps others.

 

 

Member
fourire
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎08-15-2013
0

Re: My Book Live not appearing as a backup target

I must be dreaming, I finally see my external hard drive WD. What have I done?

I moved my connection uSB Port USB3 to USB2, is this possible? Why it worked before and there the usb3 port anymore? weird

Occasional Visitor
fcadams
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎09-02-2013
0

Re: My Book Live not appearing as a backup target

My Smartware cannot see my WD 2TB NAS.  I have reloaded software, checked for firewall block and nothing.  I also reboot router and all computers attached and same thing.  The WD does not show on the Smartware program, just dropbox..

Advisor
RBrodzinsky
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎09-06-2013
0

Re: My Book Live not appearing as a backup target

I am having the same problem on one PC (a WinXP machine). Was working fine for weeks, and then the target seems to have disappeared about the same time as Quick View 2.2.  Have tried uninstalling Smartware and QuickView and reinstalling. Worked for about 5 minutes, then lost the connection. The MyBook Duo is seen just fine in network drives, and I have a timed batch file to back up the critical files on this PC to a fixed share (using XCopy), but would like to have the auto backup working again.

 

Help

Occasional Visitor
wtf_username
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎09-26-2013
0

Re: My Book Live not appearing as a backup target

customer suppport - hahahaha!

 

no backup target and no support.

 

xp now, W7 soon so backup and migration requirement.

 

yeah I could use 3pty SW... but I paid for a WD......

Forums | Ideas | News and Announcements | Register | Sign in | Help | Forum Guidelines
Copyright © 2001 - 2014 Western Digital Technologies, Inc. All rights reserved. | Trademarks | Privacy | Community Terms of Service | Site Terms of Use | Copyright | Contact WD