Reply
Occasional Advisor
iamcris
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎02-13-2012
0
Accepted Solution

Installing Smartware or not?

I just bought a My Passport Essential SE 1 TB and I'm confused whether to install the software or not. Please help me!

Occasional Advisor
iamcris
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎02-13-2012
0

Re: Installing Smartware or not?

Anyone please??!!

Honored Contributor
Wizer
Posts: 3,894
Registered: ‎04-04-2011

Re: Installing Smartware or not?

Don't install it. If you are confused that means you don't need it.

 

The drive can be used with or without the software.

Click the Kudos star to say thank you for helpful posts and be sure to come back and 'Accept as Solution' under options for the post that solved your issue.
Occasional Visitor
Asynchro
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎04-28-2012
0

Re: Installing Smartware or not?

I agree.  Don't install it!  

 

After installing Smartware 1.5.4.5 or the previous version, it took 2 minutes for the context menu to appear in response to right clicking a desktop item (e.g., to cut/paste/rename, etc.) .  After uninstalling, the context menu pops up instantly as it should.  

 

Now I use Windows 7 Backup and Restore function instead.

Forums | Ideas | News and Announcements | Register | Sign in | Help | Forum Guidelines
Copyright © 2001 - 2014 Western Digital Technologies, Inc. All rights reserved. | Trademarks | Privacy | Community Terms of Service | Site Terms of Use | Copyright | Contact WD