Don't want backup to keep old or renamed files

I am a photographer and have 1.5 TB of images in my Pictures folder on Windows 7.  I have 350 sub-folders under it, all full of big RAW and TIFF files.  If I rename a folder, backup keeps the old one and duplicates the new one.  So potentially 100 GB of data in a renamed foldercan be unnecessarily duplicated on the external backup drive, this filling the drive very quickly.  If I reneame a folder, edit an image in Photodhop of delete a photo, I have no desire for the backup program to keep the old files on the exterbnal drive.   I would rather that it mirror the files in some way.  I don’t need the old deleted or edited files or folders.  I have set versions to “1,” as low as it will go.  For example, I deleted 150 photos yesterday but all 150 are still in the backup drive. 

How can I ger WD backup to stop retaining all those old files?  I just want it to backup the curent file and folders, or duplicate the files on my C drive.  Because of this problem, my external drive fills up twice as fast as it should and is full of dead files that I would never want to recover.

Thoughts? 

The WD software is for back-up, not synching. In that sense it is working exactly as it should, but not in the way you want (you want a synched mirror rather than a true backup). A true backup should keep everything, regardless of whether the file is currently on the original drive or not (via deletion, renaming, moving etc).

So you may be better off looking at a different software solution for that. There are several around, some of them have been mentioned on these boards in various threads but you may be better off doing a search and looking around for something that may fit the bill (it’s not something I have looked into, hence I can’t make any recommendations).

Darren,