Reply
Frequent Visitor
gscualo
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎08-24-2010
0

Can the lastest WD SmartWare software version perform a full backup/restore (system/data files).

Thanks.

Frequent Visitor
gscualo
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎08-24-2010
0

Re: Can the lastest WD SmartWare software version perform a full backup/restore (system/data files).

Any feedback?

 

If  the answer is no, it  would be  a WD SmartWare update which allow this?.

Staff
daytrdr
Posts: 1,416
Registered: ‎08-23-2010

Re: Can the lastest WD SmartWare software version perform a full backup/restore (system/data files).

Our software only does a file by file copy and does not take a complete image of your drive.  This style of backup is great due to the fact that it can constantly monitor your computer for changes and make a copy of what is changed.  The draw back is, it will not back up programs or your Windows operating system.  If you are looking to take an image of your computer, you will need "imaging" or "cloning" software.

__________________________________________
Please be sure to click the Kudos star to say thank you for helpful posts. And be sure to come back to click the 'Accept as Solution' button for the post that solved your issue. This may help someone else.
Occasional Visitor
gthompson19
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎09-24-2010
0

Re: Can the lastest WD SmartWare software version perform a full backup/restore (system/data files).

Where do i get the cloning software and what is required for me to back up my system on my WD drive

Honored Contributor
Joe_S
Posts: 5,275
Registered: ‎08-04-2010

Re: Can the lastest WD SmartWare software version perform a full backup/restore (system/data files).

Try this http://support.wdc.com/product/downloaddetail.asp?swid=119&wdc_lang=en  It's a stripped down version of Acronis True Image. I use the paid version and it works very well. Smatware is total crap. Just look at the mumber of posts.

Joe

Click the Kudos star to say thank you for helpful posts. And be sure to come back to click the 'Accept as Solution' button for the post that solved your issue.
Frequent Visitor
gscualo
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎08-24-2010
0

Re: Can the lastest WD SmartWare software version perform a full backup/restore (system/data files).

[ Edited ]

Hi Joe,

 

I appreciate this alternative workaround from you. Honestly I feel cheated when I purchased this device by its backup client software. WD must to update it and deliver us a full backup solution for this HD.

 

Again, thanks.

Community Manager
Bill_S
Posts: 7,579
Registered: ‎11-24-2009
0

Re: Can the lastest WD SmartWare software version perform a full backup/restore (system/data files).

SmartWare is a type of backup software that runs all the time.  By virtue of how it functions, it will not backup system files.  As was said earlier, you need to find another software that will image the drive.  As was also said earlier, you can download our Acronis software which will do a complete backup image of the system drive. 

 

We will never make SmartWare capable of doing a full image of your system drive, because it's a different style of backup software.  If you feel cheated that you can't do this with SmartWare then you may want to consider returning the drive for one that will do what you want.


Click the Kudos star to say thank you for helpful posts. And be sure to come back to click the 'Accept as Solution' button for the post that solved your issue. This may help someone else.
Forums | Ideas | News and Announcements | Register | Sign in | Help | Forum Guidelines
Copyright © 2001 - 2014 Western Digital Technologies, Inc. All rights reserved. | Trademarks | Privacy | Community Terms of Service | Site Terms of Use | Copyright | Contact WD