Reply
Occasional Visitor
Quokka
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎09-14-2011
0
Accepted Solution

Backup tab not highlighted and can't be accessed

I can open the WD smartware programme, however only the Home, Settings and Help tabs work, the Backup and Retrieve ones don't.

Has worked fine in the past so not sure why it now isn't working.

Have downloaded updates.

 

ANy advice welcome, thanks!

 

Honored Contributor
Wizer
Posts: 3,894
Registered: ‎04-04-2011

Re: Backup tab not highlighted and can't be accessed

Power cycle the drive and restart the computer. 

 

The backup and retrieve tab are not highlighted because the drive is not seen by the computer. Once the drive is seen then you will be able to access those tabs.

 

Also make sure to unlock the drive if you have a password.

Click the Kudos star to say thank you for helpful posts and be sure to come back and 'Accept as Solution' under options for the post that solved your issue.
Occasional Visitor
Quokka
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎09-14-2011
0

Re: Backup tab not highlighted and can't be accessed

That worked - thank you!

Honored Contributor
Wizer
Posts: 3,894
Registered: ‎04-04-2011
0

Re: Backup tab not highlighted and can't be accessed

Any Time :smileyhappy:

Click the Kudos star to say thank you for helpful posts and be sure to come back and 'Accept as Solution' under options for the post that solved your issue.
Occasional Visitor
tom224
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎10-09-2011
0

Re: Backup tab not highlighted and can't be accessed

This is my problem, but not my solution.  The computer recognizes the drive and gives me full access to it. It appears that WD Smartware does not recognize the drive.

Honored Contributor
Wizer
Posts: 3,894
Registered: ‎04-04-2011
0

Re: Backup tab not highlighted and can't be accessed


tom224 wrote:

This is my problem, but not my solution.  The computer recognizes the drive and gives me full access to it. It appears that WD Smartware does not recognize the drive.


If the computer shows the drive but Smartware does not recognized it , try uninstalling and reinstalling the application.

Click the Kudos star to say thank you for helpful posts and be sure to come back and 'Accept as Solution' under options for the post that solved your issue.
Forums | Ideas | News and Announcements | Register | Sign in | Help | Forum Guidelines
Copyright © 2001 - 2013 Western Digital Corporation, All rights reserved. | Trademarks | Privacy | Terms of Service | Terms of Use | Copyright | Contact WD