Acronis WD Ediition won't load now

I have become a fan of Western Digital partly because they give a free (limited) edition of Acronis True Image to help with backups and transfers.  I have been using it on a number of systems for a few years now.

However, on one of my  Windows Vista systems (that has a WD internal HD), Acronis will no longer start.  The screen and the screen offering upgrades comes up, but the message “Loading, please wait” stays on the screen and the full program will never become available to use.

I have uniinstalled, and reinstalled and what worked a month ago no longer does.  Does anyone have any suggestions as to how I can get back to using Acronis to backup my drive?

Thanks.

Hi, have you tried right clicking on the Acronis.exe and selected to run as an administrator? 

Yee, I have tried forcing running as administrator.  No difference.

Have you tried running it from the boot disk?

Joe

I would have to use an older bootable recovery disk, or try and create one from a different system.  Since I can’t get this machine to start Acronis, I can’t readily make a new boot disk.

Online I read a comment by someone having a similar situation that their problem was solved by adding a bios password, since that was a difference between one system that worked and one that didn’t.

Did you try the Acronis forums? They are pretty good there but since it is the WD edition there may not be much they can do.

Joe

My problem seems to be resolved.

Seems to have been a side effect of a problem with my DVD/CD drive not installing properly.  I didn’t see this until I tried to make a new recovery disc to test Acronis that way.  The error was a registry problem which Internet research said was a bad “filter” on the DVD/CD device’s registry entry.  I removed one entry from the registry related to the filter and rebooted.  The DVD/CD drive came back normally and then Acronis (WD Edition) would run again.

Thanks to all that lent assistance.