Wd my passport locked! i never set the password

HELP PLEASE! I have been using my 500 GB external WD hard disk for about six months and I HAVE NEVER SET A PASSWORD. And suddenly now, WD unlocker comes up and it doesnt even ask for password!!!

It just says password attempts failed and asks for formatting!!!

I NEVER SET THE PASSWORD AND AM SURE NO ONE ELSE DID!

HELP!  I cant find this problem anywhere else!

Sounds like something got corrupt. A few people have had success logging in from another account like the Guest account. Also try a different PC. By chance did you recently upgrade the firmware?

Joe

No I have never updated my firmware! 

Same problem on other PCs too! It was working fine one night and next morning ike this!

I am the “go to” guy for tech issues at work… co-worker John handed me his drive (P/N WDBAAA3200ABK - 00) and said it wasn’t working anymore because it was locked up. I asked what his password was & he said he never put one on. He had a couple other people look at it before me; I have tried it on my laptop, as well as 2 PCs here at work, and all had the same issue:

1. Plug drive in

2. Autoplay pops up to “Run unlock.exe” when clicked…

3. WD SmartWare Drive Unlock window appears, stating:

“Too Many Password Attempts”

Have tried several times to power-cycle drive & PC… have attempted to install latest firmware… but I can’t do anything because it keeps telling me I’ve tried the password too many times as soon as it is connected. The only option given to me is to format the drive. I do not want to, nor does John want me to erase everything on his 320GB drive. 

After searching the internet, I have found this to be quite common. Is there no solution to this well-known problem?

Sadly there is no known solution. The drive is hardware encrypted so trying to hook it up to PC internally will only get you encrypted data.

Joe

Divyrus