Reply
Occasional Advisor
cookiehead31
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎01-02-2011
0

How to Reformat the Drive?

Hi everyone: I have a My Passport drive. I tried to use it for DISH Network storage. My DVR reformatted the drive, only to tell me that I couldn't use it. Now I can't seem to get it back to use with my PC. All I am seeing is WD SmartWare. Anyone know how to reformat it?? I know I will lose everything... I already have. Please help!!

Honored Contributor
Joe_S
Posts: 5,268
Registered: ‎08-04-2010

Re: How to Reformat the Drive?

This will delete everything. Go into disk management make sure you have the correct drive right click and delete volume and then reformat.

Joe

Click the Kudos star to say thank you for helpful posts. And be sure to come back to click the 'Accept as Solution' button for the post that solved your issue.
Occasional Advisor
cookiehead31
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎01-02-2011
0

Re: How to Reformat the Drive?

Thanks for the response, Joe! When I go into Disk Management (or even My Computer), the only thing that I see is F: WD SmartWare. When I right-click that, it won't allow me to delete. That option is there, but not accessible.

Honored Contributor
Joe_S
Posts: 5,268
Registered: ‎08-04-2010
0

Re: How to Reformat the Drive?

Try moving the USB cable to a different port and see if it is recognized then or on another PC.

Joe

Click the Kudos star to say thank you for helpful posts. And be sure to come back to click the 'Accept as Solution' button for the post that solved your issue.
Occasional Advisor
cookiehead31
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎01-02-2011
0

Re: How to Reformat the Drive?

Already tried that. I tried 3 different ports on my laptop and also tried my desktop.  :smileysad:

Honored Contributor
fzabkar
Posts: 1,790
Registered: ‎02-06-2010
0

Re: How to Reformat the Drive?

I suspect that the Dish receiver may have placed a password on your drive as a DRM enforcement measure.

What do HD Sentinel or HDDScan say about the drive's security status?

http://www.hdsentinel.com
http://hddscan.com

Can you read sector 0 with a disc editor?

HxD - Freeware Hex Editor and Disk Editor:
http://mh-nexus.de/en/hxd

Occasional Advisor
cookiehead31
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎01-02-2011
0

Re: How to Reformat the Drive?

"Can you read sector 0 with a disc editor?"

 

I don't really understand the above statement. Sorry!!

 

As far as the scans... will that work if my PC doesn't even recognize the drive? Basically, when I plug it into my PC, I get SmartWare, but not the actual storage. It doesn't show up and the SmartWare section tells me there's no writable storage available.

Honored Contributor
Joe_S
Posts: 5,268
Registered: ‎08-04-2010
0

Re: How to Reformat the Drive?

Try enabling autorun and see if anything comes up.

Joe

Click the Kudos star to say thank you for helpful posts. And be sure to come back to click the 'Accept as Solution' button for the post that solved your issue.
Occasional Advisor
cookiehead31
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎01-02-2011
0

Re: How to Reformat the Drive?

When I plug the drive in, the WD SmartWare folder automatically opens. There is no storage drive, which is weird. There is an Autorun folder in the SmartWare folder, but when I open or click on that, Notepad opens and it says:

 

[autorun]
open="WD SmartWare.exe" autoplay=true
ICON="WD SmartWare\SmartWare_CD.ICO"

Honored Contributor
fzabkar
Posts: 1,790
Registered: ‎02-06-2010
0

Re: How to Reformat the Drive?

If the drive is password protected, it will still respond to an ATA Identify Device command. That's how BIOS and disc utllities, such as HDDSCan and HD Sentinel, determine the drive's capabilities and settings. However, a surface scan will fail on every sector.

When I suggested that you attempt to read sector 0 using a disc editor, I was endeavouring to determine whether the very first sector in the user area of the drive was accessible. SmartWare is installed in a hidden area. The fact that you can still access SmartWare would suggest that the drive can still be read, and that the USB interface is working perfectly.

I suggest you launch HxD, select Extras -> Open disk, highlight the Physical disk, tick the Open as Readonly box, and click OK. This should bring up the contents of sector 0, ie the MBR and partition table.

Forums | Ideas | News and Announcements | Register | Sign in | Help | Forum Guidelines
Copyright © 2001 - 2014 Western Digital Technologies, Inc. All rights reserved. | Trademarks | Privacy | Community Terms of Service | Site Terms of Use | Copyright | Contact WD