External Hard drive does not show up in my computer

Question: External Hard drive does not show up in my computer.

Answer: Click on “Start” and search for “Disk Management” and then delete the partition that does not have a letter. Now create a new partition and choose the letter you want. That’s all. Your hard drive should now be ready.

I am a computer technician in Ottawa, Canada.

Please email me if I solved your problem or if you are still having problems with your hard drive let me know. I will be happy to answer your question. Visit my website http://www.taleamsystems.com/

and what happens to the data? :slight_smile:

Obviously the data will be formatted. I would highly suggest hiring an expert to recover data prior to formatting the hard drive. In many cases I would highly suggest not to recover data yourself. Again “leave the data recovery to the experts”.

Taleam Systems is a Computer Repair company in Ottawa, Canada. We offer affordable rate starting only at $30/hr. We offer: data recovery services, virus removal, wireless networking, printer repair and computer training. If you need computer service in Ottawa, Book Online.

Visit our website anytime http://www.taleamsystems.com/

I have been googling all sort’s of thing’s trying to find a solution to my problem…

But I have found that over the years computers actually enjoy giving me the most random errors, and unsolvable problems.

I bought this WD My book essential 1TB external hard drive this morning.

Came home plugged it in, yay there it is on my computer lots of space to use.

But this isn’t good enough for me, I need it to work on my playstation.

To do so the HD must be formatted to FAT32 or at least have a partition that is FAT32, and have a few folders on the drive for the playstaion to recognize it. No big deal I have another HD setup this way.