Can I set up WDMyCloud as an rsync server for a Synology NAS?

Right now, I am using PC-based sync software to sync my shares between my Synology NAS and the MyCloud (backup). I get a very decent 12 to 15MB/s as the data round trips between the 2 NASes.

Synology Disktation has onboard software to sync to an “rsync server”. I have found some info on how to set up an rsync server.

http://everythinglinux.org/rsync/

Can I set up the Wd MyCloud to be seen as an rsync server? Would that work?

Or, maybe I could go the other way and run rsync from the WD Mycloud and then maybe create a CRON job to do this on a regular basis?

I am pretty ignorant in Linux so I am trying to see if I am in the right direction, and/or whether there are some caveats because of the proprietary nature of the MyCloud…

Hello,

I have never tried this before. Lets see if other users can share their experience in this topic.

yes it works fine. I use it between two mycloud drives. One is running the rsync daemon.

I’ve posted steps in the past on this forum on how to set it up. Its very simple. Search for posts by me i guess.

OK. I found this:

http://community.wd.com/t5/WD-My-Cloud/Horrible-rsync-performance-on-wd-cloud-vs-My-book-live/m-p/606311/highlight/true#M322

I will go through it

After a few months, I finally came back to my problem and succeeded doing the following

• enable SSH on the NAS

• log as root welc0me

• type the following commands

nano /etc/rsync.secrets

^O to save to disk, this file will be left empty, but the file needs to be there

^X to exit nano

nano /etc/rsyncd.conf

Type the following into the file

[shares]

the following path works fine. When you setup the backup task in the Synology, you will be able

to choose the desired WD share

path = /shares
uid = root
gid = root
read only = no
list = yes

auth users = all

secrets file = /etc/rsyncd.secrets

the IP address is the one of the Synology backing up to the WD. This provides some security.