SmartWare Enhancement: Less Restrictive Backups (Must Have for Software Developers!)

It’s been over a year since this was posted and WD is going to implement it!  Thanks everyone for all your comments and suggestions!  I hope we get what we want in the next release! :smileyvery-happy:

_ Original Post: _

Others may have started a post about this but I haven’t seen anything get pushed up so thought I’d start my own and see if my title got people’s attention better.

I am a developer and have many .bat, .exe, .log, and tons of other files that are not backed up because SmartWare will not do it as explained in ANSWER ID3644. Any person that uses their computer for more than personal media and office documents will have this problem. I’d greatly appreciate it if no extensions where excluded at all. Only backing up the types of files that WD thinks I should back up makes me have to use another product to do my backups. As a user I want to know that SmartWare is backing up everything in a directory that I tell it to. System data and hidden files I understand but what about all those other files types that WD didn’t account for that it excludes!? I don’t want to have to look through my backup to make sure it backed up the files I wanted :frowning:

There are many ways to fix this:

1. Whenever anyone selects Other in Detailed View for backups have Other actually include everything else regardless of file type.

2. Provide a checkbox that says something like “Exclude Unsafe File Types”.  If this is unchecked then all those binary files we programmers made for ourselves or work can get backed up :slight_smile:

3. Provide a new screen that allows a user to customize their own constraints.

Please, please give some kudos to this!  It’s the only thing keeping me from relying on SmartWare for my backups.  You just can’t trust backup software that backs up the file types it thinks you need.  Come on developers click KUDOS!

Thanks!

Elwyn

11 Likes