New Firmware Version 1.02.12 for the My Book World I & II (10/19/11)

BBBBBrandon,

I have same problem described above - CNIDs not working, then AFP not registered (sorry for lack of precise wording, I’m not au fait with this kind of thing).

Your last post said you thought you knew what the issue was - and hinted at a solution.  I can’t find the solution you came up with.  Could you re-post?

Thanks

Andy

So, this is basically it?

We have (again) lots and lots of pages with people posting a mix of success or failure stories. As far as I remember, many of the issues couldn’t be resolved or even narrowed down to a specific source.

My problem is, I’m no pro with anything related to IT. Hence, I don’t understand half of the “just enter this and that into the terminal”-instructions or have half a clue what’s so dramatically difficult when switching from one network protocoll to another.

I’m just a consumer trying to use his less than a year old product (MBWII) with his less than a year old computer (iMac on Lion).

After what I’ve read here about the several firmware releases, I’m not convinced that upgrading my MBWII to 1.02.12 is actually such a good idea, because it feels like I’m risking the back-ups of our household’s other Mac (still on Snow Leo) in the process.

Sure, these are only back-ups and as such only copies of the actual data on this computer. Still, I can’t shake the impression that I shouldn’t be put into a position to even have to do deal with these kinds of decisions. After all, I opted to buy a NAS instead of an USB drive, because I wanted to create a care free easy to use back-up solution.

To finally reach the point of posting a question: is there any chance we will get an upgrade to the firmware, which I can install without having to worry about the possible consequences? (I know there’s always some kind of “residual risk”. Nothing’s a 110% guaranteed).