Reply
Occasional Visitor
CRCinAU
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎06-02-2013

Porting OpenWRT to the My Net N600

Hi all,

 

I'm trying to look at what is required to port OpenWRT to the WD N600 (and possibly N750 / N900).

 

I have started a wiki page on the router here:

http://wiki.openwrt.org/toh/wd/n600

 

I have also posted this on the OpenWRT forums here:

https://forum.openwrt.org/viewtopic.php?id=44466

 

I would love to see some assistance from WD in putting OpenWRT on these units...

Staff
John012
Posts: 1,579
Registered: ‎03-01-2013
0

Re: Porting OpenWRT to the My Net N600

We do not currently support this feature.

 

 

Click the Kudos star to say thank you for helpful posts. And be sure to come back to click the 'Accept as Solution' button for the post that solved your issue.
Occasional Visitor
CRCinAU
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎06-02-2013

Re: Porting OpenWRT to the My Net N600

Good news everyone!

 

OpenWRT now supports the WD MyNet N600:

https://www.crc.id.au/2013/09/26/western-digital-mynet-n600-openwrt-support/

Staff
John012
Posts: 1,579
Registered: ‎03-01-2013
0

Re: Porting OpenWRT to the My Net N600

Thanks for updating the thread with this information.

Click the Kudos star to say thank you for helpful posts. And be sure to come back to click the 'Accept as Solution' button for the post that solved your issue.
Occasional Advisor
ektus
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎03-02-2013
0

Re: Porting OpenWRT to the My Net N600

Is it possible to run OpenWRT on the N900 also? This might address the stability isues some are experiencing, and if it would get into trunk, even Gargoyle might become available with it's sophisticated QoS system. Just a thought, I'm not a programmer myself.

 

 

Regards

Ektus.

 

Occasional Advisor
Speed_In_Need
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎10-01-2013
0

Re: Porting OpenWRT to the My Net N600

N600 and N750 uses the same CPU and it is Atheros AR9344.  Atheros SoCs and chipsets are almost used in every router brand and targetted by third party firmware.  If a port is already available for N600, its not hard to get it to N750.  N900 will be a different story I think cause it has a Ubicom cpu which is least targetted by third party firmware.

Forums | Ideas | News and Announcements | Register | Sign in | Help | Forum Guidelines
Copyright © 2001 - 2014 Western Digital Technologies, Inc. All rights reserved. | Trademarks | Privacy | Community Terms of Service | Site Terms of Use | Copyright | Contact WD