Reply
Occasional Contributor
bigpoppalee
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎02-05-2013
0

Cannot Access WD Router settings website!!!!!!

i have been trying to access the WD router setting site to change my admin password and nothing seems to work. wdrouter doesn't work, neither does the IP 192.168.1.1  i have no idea how else to access my setting. Please help.

when i try to go to the websites i just get a "unable to display" or "server has timed out" 

Occasional Visitor
SamBrignell
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎04-17-2013
0

Re: Cannot Access WD Router settings website!!!!!!

Hi, I know this won't help but I am having the same problem. I have got a N750 and I am trying to set it up on my MacBook Pro. I have the N900 and I set that up at work using the same Laptop and that works fine. But I can't get onto the access to the setup wizard on the N750. 

 

The only difference is that I have the modem then from there I have a Broadband spliter. I tried to plug in the N750 into the splitter and I din't think it likes it but I will try and plug it straight into the modem. But I had nothing plug into it and I still couldn't get onto the set up. I only got onto it once adn then it wouldn't load up anymore.

Advisor
sjonnie_US
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎03-12-2013
0

Re: Cannot Access WD Router settings website!!!!!!

[ Edited ]

You need to check the status of your network connection to the router. Most often in this instance you have not been assigned an IP address by the router DHCP server and instead are on an unidenfitied network with a nonsense IP. If you are not on the same subnet (e.g. 192.168.1.x) as the router you will not be able to access the admin webpage. To work around this manually assign yourself an IP on the router subnet (e.g. 192.168.1.2) and you should be able to connect again.

Regular Advisor
Rob21719
Posts: 81
Registered: ‎12-21-2012
0

Re: Cannot Access WD Router settings website!!!!!!

Besides checking your PC's IP address, also try going to http://wdrouter or for Mac try http://wdrouter.local

If you happen to connect your router behind another network device that uses IP address 192.168.1.1, your router's IP may have changed to 192.168.6.1

Forums | Ideas | News and Announcements | Register | Sign in | Help | Forum Guidelines
Copyright © 2001 - 2014 Western Digital Technologies, Inc. All rights reserved. | Trademarks | Privacy | Community Terms of Service | Site Terms of Use | Copyright | Contact WD