What is required to use MyBook Live for off-site backup

Hi,

I’m considering buying a WD MyBook Live for an off-site backup solution where the disk is to be placed at a friends house . As I read around on the product specifications and such I only find that it works as an on-site solution. So my question is what is necessary in order to make it work as an off-site solution. 

What I want to do:

• Backup folders on from a desktopcomputer at location A to a Mybook Live at location B over the internet.

• I need it to be automatic (I will forget otherwise)

Is it possible?

What type of programs do I need?

I am new to the Networkstorage field and I really appreciate any assistance!

Hello,

At the moment, the backup software that comes with the NAS drive My Book Live (WD Smartware)is not capable of doing remote backup.

To be honest, not sure if that is possible and if it’s, it will be very slow.

http://community.wdc.com/t5/My-Book-Live/Secure-remote-automatic-backup-1-MBL-to-another/m-p/567763/highlight/true#M22156

I asked the same question pretty much in that thread above.  It’s possible, but not simple and some methods can void your warranty so beware if you don’t want to do that.  I think I saw some more detailed explanations of the rysnc method when I did a search for it on this board.  Rysnc is totally automatic and its incremental anyway - so it won’t be slow and even if it was, it shouldn’t matter since if it was, you can set it to backup at night I imagine.

The method I’m trying you have to turn on your laptop before it runs - but it will run automatically with your laptop on (if I can get it to work).

Yes, it would be a similar solution as heehee62 said… howeves, in this case, if you run Windows or Mac OS, there is another option. Mount/map a drive over SSH. Once you do that, then you just need a program that will backup/sync to mounted/share drives. So in a few words you would need:

• Enable ssh and get it to work local and remote