Video files - headache

Hi

Afraid I’m very new to world of media servers streaming etc. I have just bought a mybook live. I have set up a private folder into which I dropped a folder with all my photos and another folder with all my movies (all home movie stuff in .mov, mpeg and .mts format.). 

My hope was to be able to view all these via my TV (a Sony Bravia 40EX603) and my amazon kindle (I also have a PS3 sat under telly which could access but preference is for TV). Both are connected via Wifi only. Both can stream HD films via internet from Netflix etc with no problems. This is all within the home environment  - I am yet to get head around access remote and would have limited use for anyway. The Sony TV will play those movie formats perfectly fine either direct from my camera or via copies of movies stored on PS3.

Both the TV and the kindle have ‘found’ the mybook and can view phtos. But the videos have given me a mighty headache.

The problems:

1. the TV cannot see and does not list the .mov / .mpeg files sat in the same folders as the .mts.

2. the TV can see and play the .mts but the sound is dreadful (dalek like) and judders and freezes rendering it impossible to view

3. the kindle can see and play the .mov / .mpeg fine but whilst it can see the .mts files the enteries have a ‘?’ and won’t play. I have tried multiple free player apps and even paid for the archos player (and got money back sharpish after!) but no player app seems to be able to run them. 

I really love the quality of the .mts files the sharp HD clarity is stunning (when played on PC or via the PS3 harddrive to TV) so I’d hate to have to convert them to something lower standard.

Can anyone help with my 3 points above ??

Very much appreciated in anticipation.

Regards

J

Since the media server in the My Book Live is not a transcoding media server, you can only play videos that are 100% compatible with the player you’re using.