Reply
Occasional Visitor
ekonstan
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎12-28-2010
0

Space quota for Time Machine

I am using Time Machine to backup my 3 apple computers on my new My Book Live. The way Time Machine works, it will keep previous states of my computers, until the backup drive is full. For example, if I delete one 2GB movie, time machine will keep it in the backups (in case I deleted by mistake).

 

This way, Time Machine is going to fill My Book with old backups and leave no space for my other files.

 

Is there a way to put a quota on the MyBookLive backup share in order to restrict Time Machine from claiming all the space?

Occasional Visitor
Cralon
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎01-03-2011
0

Re: Space quota for Time Machine

I have the same problem. Have you find a solution ?

Staff
cheytac01
Posts: 84
Registered: ‎01-27-2010

Re: Space quota for Time Machine

The device does not have a way to set a quota limit for backups.

 

This is however an interesting idea.

Occasional Visitor
fedukoff
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎01-24-2011
0

Re: Space quota for Time Machine

Is it planned to be implemented? Or somebody knows the hack?

Staff
WDTony
Posts: 827
Registered: ‎01-11-2011
0

Re: Space quota for Time Machine

Quotas forTime Machine is a great idea.

 

Thanks for the input. Keep up the suggestions!

 

Tony

 

Occasional Visitor
agilix
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎02-15-2011
0

Re: Space quota for Time Machine

I noticed that Time Machine backup can not be accessed through Finder, and there is a separate network device "MyBookLive-backup" showing on the network device list.  However, it can not be mounted or modified on the desktop.  Is that normal? 

 

If this "backup" space can not be accessed, there is no easy way to impose the TM size limit, such as those being suggested on Apple Support sites using a modified sparesbundle files.  Will future program update through WD be able to allow size limit? 

 

 

Occasional Visitor
dazaf
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎03-02-2011
0

Re: Space quota for Time Machine

Having the same issue.. Any idea if there is a plan to add quotas to the backup folder?

Occasional Visitor
ekonstan
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎12-28-2010
0

Re: Space quota for Time Machine

Hello all,

 

I haven't found a solution, but I must say the problem was not as big as I had initially thought. After 3 months of using Time Machine, my 3 backups did not grow significantly. They did grow a little, but as much to create a problem.

 

If they keep like this, they will fill my disk in maybe 2 years, which is not so bad.

 

Things you can do to make them grow less fast is to exclude folders that hold temporary files, like the Download folder. Also, once a year, you can delete the backups and start over.

Advisor
U-PID
Posts: 26
Registered: ‎03-03-2011
0

Re: Space quota for Time Machine

>  Also, once a year, you can delete the backups and start over.

 

That way, you loose, once a year, the benefit of having timemachine (over rsync or other non-version-based backup soft)

Advisor
U-PID
Posts: 26
Registered: ‎03-03-2011
0

Re: Space quota for Time Machine

I second the question. I would also love to have quotat. Not just for time machine.

Forums | Ideas | News and Announcements | Register | Sign in | Help | Forum Guidelines
Copyright © 2001 - 2014 Western Digital Technologies, Inc. All rights reserved. | Trademarks | Privacy | Community Terms of Service | Site Terms of Use | Copyright | Contact WD