Secure remote automatic backup: 1 MBL to another

I’ve got one my book live in my sister’s house.  I want to remotely automatically backup certain (not all) folders from her drive to my  2 TB my book live in my house.  I want to use a secure connection.  I’m willing to void the warranty on my mybook live but not my sisters. 

Is there a way for me to do this?  If I have to copy all of her folders instead of just certain ones, I’m willing to do that but I’d prefer just to backup certain folders.

I’m a newbie so if you could try to explanations simple and detailed, I’d really appreciate it.

Thanks a lot.

No need to void the warranty and yes there is a way. Not a simple one and you will have to do some research.

Not recommeded if not confortable with Unix commands.

• First setup ssh and all of the access for each MBL

http://community.wdc.com/t5/My-Book-Live/what-s-my-normal-non-root-user-s-SSH-password/m-p/566428#M21996

• Then try to copy files back and forth using rsync, locally first and then accross each device

• Then setup a rsync script/cron job that will run whenever you want

rsync is a Unix command, these devices have Debian Linux. There are plenty of examples out there, just search for it.

Example:  http://www.thegeekstuff.com/2010/09/rsync-command-examples/

Good luck!

1 Like

Thanks a lot.  Yeah, you’re right.  I’m not comfortable enough with Unix to use rysnc.  I’ll just set the automatic backup going through my sister’s laptop instead with netdrive and syncback.  So, the backup’s will only occur when she turns on her computer (which is not ideal but ok). 

Maybe I’ll learn a little unix someday though it seems like it might be quite an effort.

Hi there, can to share to do it with netdrive and syncback?

I am in a simliar situation, i have 2 MBL in 2 locations. ideally i wan to sync data from home A to B. How do I do it?

Thanks in advance :slight_smile: