Reply
Established Member
bobbert
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎04-07-2011
0

Rebuilding Volumes

I just purchased a 2TB My Book Live and have been playing around with Smartware.

 

After an initial backup I selected the retrieve tab and got a message that it was rebuilding the volume. This process took about 10 minutes for I guess about 30 Gigs. Is this normal to take so long?

 

Sorry if this is a duplicate. I searched but could find nothing.

Moderator
Trancer
Posts: 1,884
Registered: ‎01-26-2011
0

Re: Rebuilding Volumes

Thread moved to WD Network Products: My Book Live.

 

The SmartWare Backup and Retrieve functions on the WD My Book Live may take more time to complete depending on the current Network configuration.

Trancer.
Frequent Advisor
jonj678
Posts: 67
Registered: ‎01-25-2011
0

Re: Rebuilding Volumes

[ Edited ]

Ten minutes is 600s, 30 gb is 30720 mb, so that's 50 mb/s. That's very good for transfer speeds over a home network.

 

Could you rephrase that please Trancer?

Honored Contributor
TonyPh12345
Posts: 22,784
Registered: ‎01-11-2010
0

Re: Rebuilding Volumes

Gotta watch those abbreviations...  50 mb/s  usually means 50 megabits per second.

 

It's actually 400 megabits per second, which actually seems quite fast.  I've only ever managed 250 megabits per second...

 

Now, that's assuming the OP meant a file volume of 30 GigaBYTES.    If *he* meant 30 Gigabits, then it's indeed, 50 megabits per second, which is actually pretty slow.

 

===Live SMP / Live Hub x2 / Live+ / Live x2 / 24 TBytes of QNAP + WD NAS ===
Frequent Advisor
jonj678
Posts: 67
Registered: ‎01-25-2011
0

Re: Rebuilding Volumes

[ Edited ]

Accursed typos;  I try to use mbit/s or mbyte/s these days. The distinction between MB and Mb is too subtle for me.

 

Glad someone else thinks the OP's backup is fast, my last one took over a day (at 8 mbyte/s = 8 MB/s)

Occasional Visitor
A-Team
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎05-22-2011
0

Re: Rebuilding Volumes

I dont think the issue is speed of the actual retrieve of data.  It is rather the speed of the "rebuilding volumes".  I've been wating 10 minutes for the thing to rebuild the volume.  It finally finished.  Now it will not allow me to select destination.

 

 

 

 

Forums | Ideas | News and Announcements | Register | Sign in | Help | Forum Guidelines
Copyright © 2001 - 2014 Western Digital Technologies, Inc. All rights reserved. | Trademarks | Privacy | Community Terms of Service | Site Terms of Use | Copyright | Contact WD