My book live safepoint compatible device?

I’m not completely computer inept, but I’m also not a techie. 

I have a My Book Live. I have a My book (for Mac). I’d like to back up (safepoint?) the My Book Live so I can keep everything on my personal cloud for remote access, but obviously then I need a back up (as previous MBL network controller failed and I suffered). I hadn’t realised this was even possible (or might not have suffered when network controller failed), and now I’m pretty sure I still need to buy yet another MBL to do so (spent so much money on hard drives this year…) However, I saw a NexStar NAS adapter. 

Does anyone know if I can hook up my My Book to an NAS adapter and then use it as a safepoint/back up for My Book Live? (It would be so much cheaper!) Alternatively, does anyone have an updated list for compatible devices? The only list I found is from August 2011- pretty out of date for anything computer related. 

Thanks so much!!

Hello,

The My Book should recognize most devices available on the network, but only the ones on the KB  7570 are supported.

It might be possible for you to connect the My Book HD to a controller card but note that this is not a supported configaration for the safepoints.

what is a   KB  7570?

Requin wrote:

what is a   KB  7570?

If you would click the link, you’d know.  ;)

Sorry about that.

KB is knowledge Base 7570 is a link to our knowledge base with information about the List of NAS drives validated by WD to work as a SafePoint backup for a My Book Live.

You can click on the following link or KB 7570

http://wdc.custhelp.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/7570/session/L3RpbWUvMTM3ODc2MTE0OS9zaWQvLVNrTVdWemw%3D

Didn’t realise it was a link. However, the link data is 2 years old. I mentioned in the original post the only data I could find is from August 2011. Which is the same data on the link. Would WD really not update their my book lives to work with current devices? Only discontinued ones? That seems absurd.