MBL 2T slow transfer speed

I have my MBL 2T hardwired to a gig ethernet port on my Asus RT-Ac66u via a less than 1m long cat5 cable. I have BT infinity FTTC which brings in approx 70 Mbps to the modem. I use my kindle fire hd, samsung galaxy s4 and laptop to transfer video files to and from the MBL. My kindle and laptop connects to the router with Approx 35/18 and the galaxy s4 with considerably more as its 802.11ac enabled on 5Ghz band. However when I transfer the files I get a max speed of 2.5 Mbps on all devices. I am not very tech savvy but surely the MBL should be capable of much faster transfer speeds? Any help would be much appreciated as the router set me back £169!

makes no difference what speeds all devices are, look for the weakest link, and that will be your max speed.

2.5 Mbps sounds like a wireless G connection.

Plus this makes no much sense to me:  Approx 35/18.

in a LAN, there is not usually limitations for up/down, as with the ISP connections

Also see…

http://www.speedguide.net/faq_in_q.php?qid=374

Oh yeah, also make sure you have a cat5e or newer cable.

Thanks for the reply but I’m afraid it doesn’t really help me much. As I said in my post I have the MBL connected with a less than 1 metre long cat5 cable. Any other replies would be most welcome.

parky7720 wrote:

Thanks for the reply but I’m afraid it doesn’t really help me much. As I said in my post I have the MBL connected with a less than 1 metre long cat5 cable.

… but all of your other devices are Wireless.  Wireless is ALWAYS the slow link.

Thanks Tony.

However there is no issue with my wireless signal. I know that wifi is always slower than wired. However my Asus RT-AC66U is capable of super fast wifi. When on the internet with wifi I get speeds of approx 35Mbps down and 18Mbps up on my laptop and kindle fire hd and up to 69 Mbps down on my Galaxy s4 using 802.11ac 5Ghz.