[GUIDE] Installing CrashPlan for MBL - Cloud backup

The below allows you to install CrashPlan to your MBL and backup to the cloud. This is tested on the latest firmware update. I have rebuilt and installed this a couple of times now. I am a beginner at Linux and thanks go to NFodiz for demonstrating what is possible!

Updated 21-May-2013 to correct “shares” name where libjtux.so may be stored and posted a link to the working libjtux.so file.

_ Install Java/JRE _

1. SSH in to your MBL
  2. Update the libraries from the command line with “apt-get update” ** If you have additional advice to minimise this action please share it
  3. Install the JRE from the command line with “apt-get install default-jre”
  4. Install the JNA library from the command line with “apt-get install libjna-java”

_ Install CrashPlan _

CrashPlan instructions http://support.crashplan.com/doku.php/getting_started/installing_crashplan

1. Download the CrashPlan for linux from their website http://www.crashplan.com/

2. Extract the files on your MBL and start the install. I used all the default directories

_ Install updated libjtux.so file _

This is the important step. I have posted a version of the libjtux.so file that is working for me.

1. Download the libjtux file that works with the MBL’s ARM processor and extract it from the zip - I place it in the root Public folder
    https://docs.google.com/file/d/0B91m1fs9vtTGREtiVVNNcUxDSTA/edit?usp=sharing

2. Rename the existing libjtux file
    From the command line “mv /usr/local/crashplan/libjtux.so /usr/local/crashplan/libjtux.so.backup”

3. Copy the replacement libjtux.so from your download location. I extracted and stored it in the Public share so simply replace the location below as necessary [/shares/Public/libjtux.so]
    From the command line “cp /shares/Public/libjtux.so /usr/local/crashplan/libjtux.so”

_ Start CrashPlan _

From the command line “/usr/local/crashplan/bin/CrashPlanEngine start”

_ Configure CrashPlan _