Connect to iMac...How?

Hi everyone i am new to networking and this is probably a newbe queshtion.  

I have connected my WD Live drive via eathernet to my imac rather than the router due to it being faster to put files on it.  I acually prefer it plugged in to my iMac rather than the router, what was wondering as the iMac is connected to the WIFI is there any way I can get my Macbook air to connect to it exacly the same way as if it was connected to the router. So that I can upload files from the Macbook air.

Thanks any help would be apprecieated.

I just answered another post similar to it… No, as the manual specfies, you have to connect the MBL/NAS to a router.

And yes, there are other ways, but it is for advanced users only.

If you connect the MBL/NAS to the router, any wireless device conneted to it, will have access to it.

edited/added: Connecting directly will not necessary make it faster as well. My $02, connect both devices to router, at least  the first large transfer.

Hi thank you for your answer,  when I say I am a newbie I mean to this drive not tech.  I am a programmer and complex stuff does not phase me but can 100% tell you its faster to transfer direct with Ethernet that over the router, connecting both is not an option due the router being in another room. You have stated for advanced users only.

If anyone can tell me how to do this I would appreciate it as once pointed in the right direction I would get it done.

Thanks

What you are missing is how an NAS works. It requires an IP address within your network so it can be accessed. Having it directly connected to your iMac may be faster but it cannot route to each other.

VideoGeek wrote:

[I] can 100% tell you its faster to transfer direct with Ethernet that over the router

… then there’s something amiss with your router.

Hi